Mushroom Stuffed Beef Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Add some finely diced onions to the mushroom mix and serve with garlic mashed potatoes with diced chives or green onions on top...We also add some grated parmesean cheese to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I thought it was really good I served with mashed baked potato's and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIVY33
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
made it last night and my family loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Maybe it is something I did wrong but I found this to be a little bland. It was a lot of work for a so-so dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Delicious! I grew up eating traditional rouladen and really enjoyed this variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I agree that it was a little bland as the recipe is written. Does seem to take a bit of work as well. But my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel C.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I made this as a lower fat version of regular rouladen (i.e. no bacon), and so my expectations weren't too high. However I found it was very good and a great alternative to the more traditional rouladen. It seemed slightly easier to make as well; it's a big help if you get a rouladen cut from your butcher so you don't have to spend 15 minutes pounding to make the meat thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I used precut and pounded meat which made the recipe really easy. Was a nice change from the regular rouladen. I added more garlic to the stuffing, probably 1 tbsp minced. I used 1 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of broth and 1 can full of shiraz wine for the gravy, with garlic and black pepper. I let the meat cook for 3 hours in the oven at 250 degrees, then removed the rouladen and thickened the gravy on stove top with instant dissolving flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Had Oktoberfest dinner party and this was a success. Great flavor and easy to make. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by momof4inwv
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Very nice recipe. The flavor of the gravy is very nice, but the flavor of the mushrooms was somewhat lost during the long baking process. Overall, this is a very good recipe and presents nicely with either buttered egg noodles or potatoes. One reviewer reported thickening the gravy on the stove top after cooking - that would be a nice idea for next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States