Mushroom Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
Good soup! I did make some changes though. I added barley and a full can of tomato paste. I did not strain out the vegetables, instead I put the soup into the blender and chopped the vegetables into small pieces. Then I added the spinach. Everyone loved it. They ate the whole thing! I did garnish with Parmesan cheese. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
WOW!! My husband and my kids loved this wonderful soup! I had no savory, so used italian seasoning with super results. Wonderful mushroom flavor from simmering! Thanks :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
This is a very good receipe for even the kids! They will love it more than you think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This was one the best soup recipes I have made in a long time. I did leave out the sherry and the tomato paste, but still so good. I also left in the vegetables, I like a hardy soup. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I substituted olive oil for the butter, omitted the leeks, savory, & oregano, used regular & baby portobello mushrooms, added an extra Tbsp. of tomato paste, & added some sliced baby spinach leaves. I did not strain the soup. This would be an elegant first course for a nice dinner. I took it to lunch one day, & it's not really filling though, like a bean-type soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful soup. I made it according to the directions, used 1/4 crimini, 1/4 shitake & 1/2 regular mushrooms. I did strain it because I wanted a light soup for a first course at a Christmas party I catered....the spinach leaves & mushrooms were a nice touch, but the parmesan sort of sank to the bottom. The strained veggies seemed to yummy to throw away, next time I maight save them & serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PersonalChefJoni

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was so good. However I did not strain the vegetables from the soup. I thought it would be a shame to waste them. Easy to make and great for company. The kitchen aromas were most enticing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I served this soup to my Christmas Progressive Soup Dinner group this year. It was one of four and well received. I did not strain the vegetables and added more spinach. Several people ask for the recipe which is always a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This was good but.......Used a small can of tomato sauce and omitted the leeks because I didn't have any. Also, left all the vegetables in the soup because it does seem like a big waste to get rid of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Keep the vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeMc
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States