Mushroom Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This was so good. However I did not strain the vegetables from the soup. I thought it would be a shame to waste them. Easy to make and great for company. The kitchen aromas were most enticing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
WOW!! My husband and my kids loved this wonderful soup! I had no savory, so used italian seasoning with super results. Wonderful mushroom flavor from simmering! Thanks :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful soup. I made it according to the directions, used 1/4 crimini, 1/4 shitake & 1/2 regular mushrooms. I did strain it because I wanted a light soup for a first course at a Christmas party I catered....the spinach leaves & mushrooms were a nice touch, but the parmesan sort of sank to the bottom. The strained veggies seemed to yummy to throw away, next time I maight save them & serve over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PersonalChefJoni

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
This was one the best soup recipes I have made in a long time. I did leave out the sherry and the tomato paste, but still so good. I also left in the vegetables, I like a hardy soup. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2000
Good soup! I did make some changes though. I added barley and a full can of tomato paste. I did not strain out the vegetables, instead I put the soup into the blender and chopped the vegetables into small pieces. Then I added the spinach. Everyone loved it. They ate the whole thing! I did garnish with Parmesan cheese. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
I served this soup to my Christmas Progressive Soup Dinner group this year. It was one of four and well received. I did not strain the vegetables and added more spinach. Several people ask for the recipe which is always a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This is what I would consider "detox" food. Filling but low-cal. As per others suggestions, I did not strain out the veggies and I used an entire 6 oz can of tomato paste. I also used italian seasoning instead of savory and oregano, and added cumin as well. I used an immersion blender to chop it all up into rough bits at the end. Strong mushroomy flavour, but then, it IS mushroom soup! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Keep the vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeMc
Living In: San Dimas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This was good but.......Used a small can of tomato sauce and omitted the leeks because I didn't have any. Also, left all the vegetables in the soup because it does seem like a big waste to get rid of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I have no doubt that this soup is every bit as elegant, prepared as written, as the submitter describes. However, I just couldn't see throwing out all those beautiful vegetables that not only cost a penny or two, but would add such wonderful substance and texture to the soup. I did make a few minor modifications in the preparation - olive oil rather than butter, a mix of button and baby bella mushrooms, and fresh thyme rather than the oregano and savory (it's what appealed to me at the moment, plus I had fresh thyme). I knew from the get-go that I was not going to strain the vegetables out, but once done the appearance of the soup just wasn't' moving me. So I removed about half of it, pureed it with my immersion blender, then returned it to the soup. Then I added the fresh chopped spinach, a little more than called for. When it was all said and done, this soup frankly exceeded my expectations, definitely tasting even better than it looked. The broth is rich and robust, no confusion whatsoever that it is mushroom based. I loved the slight thickness that pureeing half of the soup gave it, and I also liked the texture and interest that leaving the vegetables in the soup contibuted to this in the first place. The sherry is just enough to round the flavors out, and gives it a perfect, gourmet lift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States