Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
i make this tecipe all the time so easy! very light on calories! i add fresh garlic and dont use leaks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Very bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
So good! I had green onions, but not regular/yellow, so I used garlic. The footnote of the recipe mentioned rice, so I used a little more chicken stock, and partway though simmering I added about 1/4 cup rice. With fresh ground pepper to finish, this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
This soup recipe has good bones, but for my tastes it required quite a bit of tinkering to make it work for me. What foremost impressed me about this soup is that I could feel good eating it - it is nothing but fresh, lovely ingredients. But it was a bit on the weak side in terms of substance and flavor. Given the submitter gives her permission to modify this to our tastes, I did, in several ways. I don't like carrots, so that was already out. I was a little short on the amount of mushrooms and had no leeks so I filled in with zucchini and fresh baby spinach, (added at the end until just wilted). Finely chopped red bell pepper added both color interest and flavor. I sautéed the vegetables in olive oil and added fresh minced garlic, tho' I would have had no problem using garlic powder if fresh was not available. A good glug of white wine (Pinot Grigio) and a combination of both chicken and beef stock also lent a deeper color and flavor. At this point I was happier, but still something was missing for me. While this soup certainly wasn't a deal breaker without it, adding a little pastina (small soup pasta) completed this for me, making it rich and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Not a huge fan of thyme. But a great addition is dill. I have made this several times and change it up some each time. I have added Potato, spinach, beef, wine you can pretty much add in whatever you want. I have added sour cream and milk also to switch it up sometimes. But dill is the major change I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Saute garlic with the butter.. Sprinkle with parmesan cheese for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I like to stick to the recipe the first time and then make changes. So glad I did, this was so good and so easy. I didn't have the "optional" leeks but hope next time to add them. I had organic chicken broth and for the mushrooms, I used 1/2lb baby bellas and 1-1/2lb white buttons. At the end I did use a hand mixer to smooth out about half of it. I thought this was very flavorful. Didn't even have to add the rice mix as noted in the footnotes as a possible addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by Kathi
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I am a soup lover, and this mushroom soup is outrageously delicious! It was extremely easy to put together, and as mentioned by another reviewer, I added garlic for additional flavour! Prepare to give your taste buds a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I love this recipe! I prepare a box of Uncle Bens wild rice and add it at the end! Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth L.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
When I first made this I was afraid I was going to be disappointed. Not so. I did make a couple of changes. One was to add a couple of cloves of garlic when cooking the vegies then I added 5 tbsp of wonder flour gravy mix to thicken it a bit. Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James York

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dansville, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States