Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
One of the best mushroom soups I've ever tried! Because garlic is good in almost everything I added three cloves of freshly chopped garlic when I sauteed the veggies; and because I was too lazy to make rice I added a handful of dry orzo to cook up as the soup simmered. I used my immersion blender to slighly puree a small amount of the soup which gave an illusion of creaminess; but still left it very chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Even my son who doesn't like mushrooms liked it. I had no thyme but sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top, with a sprig of fresh basil. Thanks for a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Delicious and simple, not to mention pretty! Great presentation. I only used half the mushrooms because that was all I had, and it was still plenty chunky - I don't really think it needs a full 2 lbs. Anyway, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Excellent recipe! I used a sodium reduced broth. I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it. Even those who don't like onions or leeks really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Toth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I used a few portabella mushrooms, included the leeks, and unfortunately didn't have any carrots on hand. It was wonderful, also as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I really enjoyed this recipe and will make it again. I took out a bit of the soup and using a stick blender, blended the soup till smooth then added it back to the remaining soup. It added a bit of thickness and I enjoyed that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
We love soup in our household, I make one to two pots of soup a week. I just wanted to say that this soup will move right to the top of the list. I made some noodles to have with and it was delicious,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My modifications included using spay butter to reduce the fat and added a ton of garlic. The soup turned out fabulous and tasted similar to a French onion soup, but mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Very nice, deep flavor. Used a shallot instead of the leek..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Made this soup with plenty of variation... Didn't have leeks so used red onions instead. Also didn't have carrots, so replaced them with colorabi. Didn't use thyme, either. Used portabella and forest mushrooms, not button. Came out GREAT! Served it with wild rice, as recommended. Was really wonderful, full of flavor like no other soup. Great for weight watchers who're looking fora light, cream-less mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States