Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
One of the best mushroom soups I've ever tried! Because garlic is good in almost everything I added three cloves of freshly chopped garlic when I sauteed the veggies; and because I was too lazy to make rice I added a handful of dry orzo to cook up as the soup simmered. I used my immersion blender to slighly puree a small amount of the soup which gave an illusion of creaminess; but still left it very chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
A wonderful mushroom soup recipe full of flavor without the fat! Truly an excellent base that can be changed up tons of different ways to suit your personal preferences. I omitted the carrots and leeks, used about 3 pounds mushrooms (white/crimini/shitake), added garlic to the onion/celery mixture, a couple of sprinkles of beef boullion granules, and a few dashes hot sauce. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was great! I didn't have any leeks, so I left them out, and the only thing I added that was different was a packet of onion-mushroom soup mix. I may try some white wine next time, but my husband said it was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
This soup is very tasty. I use a vegetable broth or stock. It is the perfect vegetarian soup. I tried it pureed and not. I can't decide which I like better. Last time I made it, I pureed about half then mixed it with the other. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COZMIKCOWGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
ohmygod...what a great soup. The few changes I made were cabbage instead of leeks( I didn't have any) added a tad of garlic, white button and portabella mushrooms, 2 can's veggie broth and a can of beef gravy instead of the chicken broth. The rest was the same. Other's like it pured, but I prefered it chunky. I will Definately make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was good, and certainly a healthy dish as written. It would be a good choice for someone wanting to eat lighter fare, and possibly wanting to reduce calorie intake. Essentially, this is a tasty broth with ample mushrooms. In reading the 84 reviews, it seemed to have a high percentage of reviewers deviating from the written recipe which makes one wonder whether to follow along and whether the rating is sound since they didn’t taste the real deal. Prepared the recipe as written, and in retrospect, wish we had adopted some of the changes others had made. We would probably not make this again unless there were dietary reasons to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I make this soup quite often and it's always a hit. I cook it as written. Great with garlic bread and a nice chianti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyrd Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portola, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a delicious soup. I made it as described with the addition of garlic. When finished I thought that it was really good but needed a little help. I added a bit of beef stock and some red wine. It really perked up! This is a very healthy and satisfying soup. Low in fat and calories. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobby gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
When followed to the 'T,' the recipe is great for what it offers. It has a great blend of everything - flavor, freshness and uninhibited ingredients. I deviated slightly because I don't like leeks and there was no celery, so I just subbed other vegies. I pureed half the pot for thickness because my fiance won't eat "thin" soup. I liked it with the wild rice and parsley. I might try it with barley next time. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I did not have leeks and I used mushroom stock (Better then Bullion) and this soup was fantastic! I also added about 1/2 cup of uncooked farro when I added the broth and about a 1/2 cup finely chopped kale right at the end. Very healthy and my kids even liked it. Even my 10 month old baby ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States