Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Wow! This soup was so good! I appreciated the fact that it wasn't made with cream, which made the soup less heavy. It had a very pleasant mushroom flavor. I did add a bay leaf and some dried parsley to give it more flavor, since I did not have leeks or green onions on hand. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and cut down the amount. Since most of my family doesn't care for mushrooms, they wouldn't eat it, but those of us who do like mushrooms really loved this soup! I will be making it again; thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This is a delicious soup. I made it as described with the addition of garlic. When finished I thought that it was really good but needed a little help. I added a bit of beef stock and some red wine. It really perked up! This is a very healthy and satisfying soup. Low in fat and calories. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobby gregory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Washington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I didn't have leeks, used dried thyme instead of fresh, and used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth to keep it vegetarian. I also simmered 1/4 cup of brown rice in the soup as it cooked, rather than the wild rice addition (although that sounds good too!) to make it just a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Holy Mushrooms Batman! This recipe is fabulous! I had to change it up just a little since I'm on a fairly strict sodium restriction: I used ~half low-sodium vegetable stock and ~half low-sodium chicken stock, didn't add salt at the end (just made sure the salt shaker was out for my wife) and used 3 cloves of garlic in the beginning. So tasty. I'm going to try it with Shitake mushrooms in the mix next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
This is surprisingly excellent, since there are very few spices. I didn't have thyme and totally forgot a bay leaf until the last minute. I tossed some mustard powder, black pepper, a little bit of salt, and a bay leaf in at the very end. Most of the flavor is from the wonderful sauteed mushrooms. (I've never understood just boiling them!) I used 1 lb Baby Bellas, 2/3 lb white sliced, and 1/2 oz. dried shiitake, rehydrated. I wish I'd chopped them up a bit more, but my husband loved it as is. Also added 1 cup cooked barley. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This smelled so wonderful as it was simmering, but unfortunately it didn't taste quite as good. The only changes I made were to use veg broth and omit the celery. Strangely, it didn't taste as mushroomy as I'd hoped. I'm not going to give up, though--next time, I'll add some shiitakes (I used all baby bellas this time), and I'll take another reviewer's suggestion and add rosemary and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
"Oh my" this soup was very good. I used white, cremini and portobellos. Loved the texture of the mushrooms and it has a very earthy taste. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I love soups...cream of mushroom being my favorite. I had to toss this one out. It just tasted like dirty water., Maybe beef broth would work better with this recipe? sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This soup is fantastic! And because it has no cream, it's healthy and it freezes well. I add garlic, fresh parsley, and fresh rosemary, but skip the leeks. During the last 10 minutes of cooking time, I add a little flour to thicken it. When serving at a dinner party, I puree it and serve it with a sprinkle of crispy bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was so delicious. I only had ground thyme, so I added 1/2 tsp. That was perfect. I served this for a special occasion dinner, and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States