Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I did not have leeks and I used mushroom stock (Better then Bullion) and this soup was fantastic! I also added about 1/2 cup of uncooked farro when I added the broth and about a 1/2 cup finely chopped kale right at the end. Very healthy and my kids even liked it. Even my 10 month old baby ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I added some small star pasta to this near the end of it cooking. Also, right before I stirred in the stock, I stirred in about 2 tbsp. all purpose flour with the veggies. This thickened it up just enough. I took the advice of others and added a couple of dashes of hot sauce and a bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
As written this soup is pretty good. It needs some added flavor though. With some tweaking I think it could be great. I made it as written this time to see how it turned out. It definitely needs a few changes for my taste. I agree with other reviewers that beef stock might be better. I think it would lend a stronger flavor to the soup, and would compliment the mushrooms better than chicken stock. I also would add garlic next time, and maybe a splash of worchestershire sauce. It's a good base that I can adjust to suit my taste. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
As written I would say it was four stars. It seemed a little bland. I added wild rice and to kick it up on the flavor, added worchestire sauce and some heavy red wine. I think would also use half beef broth next time. But we really enjoyed this and will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This soup was great! I also added the garlic and omited the leek. I did add a little extra onion as well. I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carla_P
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Excellent, I used olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla_P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I wished I had some Worcestire on hand to deepen the flavor. This soup was ok but unremarkable. I added some acini de peppe pasta for texture and used crimini mushrooms. ADDED - it is better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This soup was delicious. I added green beans that needed to be used up, and they were a great addition. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
So YUMMY!!! I loved this soup, amazing flavor with fresh ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This soup was awesome!! The only changes I made was I used beef broth instead of chicken. I mixed in wild rice when I served it. I would make this for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allison Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States