Mushroom Soup Without Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I used vegetable broth & olive oil (instead of chicken stock & butter). This is one of the easiest and best soup recipes. Also allergy-friendly, I barely had to alter. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Gorgeous soup, great for me as I hate creamy soups. I followed the recipe exactly but would add more stock next time. I only used 1lb of mushrooms and that was plenty? Will be making this again and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is really good soup. I put chicken in it so I didn't have to use as much chicken stock, I just added a little more water. I also put some barley and zucchini that I had to use up. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Really tasty - the whole is more than the sum of its parts. I added two more cups of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
We love, love, love this! I've made it twice now and was pleasantly surprised at how much my husband likes it. I leave out the celery because I'm sensitive to it and use dried thyme. This pairs really well with the Fabulous Fargozas (muffins). When I gave some to a friend I threw in some shredded chicken to make it more of a complete meal for her. She loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARIANWEN1174

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I wanted a recipe that didn't use cream and this one is fantastic! I took some advice of other reviewers and added cabbage since I didn't have leeks on hand, increased the garlic to 5 cloves, added some red wine and used beef stock. Delicious recipe that I will definitely use again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I was so excited to try this (my first soup!), and while it turned out OK I was a little disappointed. Even for a mushroom fanatic like myself there were an awful lot of mushrooms. Yes, the recipe says how many, but it didn't click until I saw how skimpy the other veggies seemed in comparison. This recipe's true strength is as a template. Make it as-is one good time. Decide what you do/don't like about it. It will stand up to whatever revisions you make and can only improve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This soup is AWESOME!!! I didn't have leeks so I left those out. I added some red potatoes sliced thin. I also didn't have any celery...but, I did have dried celery flakes so I added that instead. I ended up using more butter than it called for because I added the potatoes. But, the end result....YUMMY! Thank you so much for this recipe. (All I did was Google mushroom soup and I picked this recipe....Good choice on my part!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotchy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I LOVE this soup!! I prepare mostly as written, however I have been using beef broth instead of chicken since that's what I had on hand the first time I made it and it was sooo good I didn't want to change it after that! I also add about 2-3 cloves of crushed garlic. (oh...and I have never had any leeks or green onions on hand, lol! Guess I should try to follow the directions and it would be even more delicious) Right before it's done I use an immersion blender to take out some of the chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I read many of the reviews and decided to use beef stock instead of chicken and omitted carrots. Great low carb soup, it was absolutely wonderful! I spent the day making different soups to freeze and this one didn't make it to the freezer! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States