Mushroom Smothered Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I made this in compliance with the recipe except for 3 items. I used already cooked left over from a previous meal and this was so dry I put in 1/4 cup of red wine. I also added a s sprinkling of onion powder. My husband deemed it "quite tasty." I rated it down a star because it had you cook the butter. Classic sauce recipes call for adding butter after the pan is off the fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I don't know if it was the red wine vinegar (which I luv) combined with this particular cut of meat or what, but I found this mix of flavors just disgusting. Won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCinDenver

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Wonderful! Changed the sauce by starting with frying fresh sliced mushrooms, frying it with a chopped onion, added the flour and balsamic, also added half a can of cream of mushroom concentrated soup. Served it on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zswanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I used London Broil on the grill and did not add the vinegar, subbed water and it came out perfect! Quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Used to using fresh vegetables in my cooking and having noticed some reviews where people were unhappy with the texture of the mushrooms I was a little nervous going into this recipe. I used up some venison steaks I had in the freezer and followed the rest as directed. I was pleasantly surprised. My mushrooms were satisfactory to us, as frozen goes, and did not have a weird texture to them - and I'm a picky person when it comes to that. That leaves me to question the freshness of the product others received. If I make this again I think I would leave out the vinegar, just a personal preference. Overall, it was quick, easy and somewhat healthy meal. I served it with a garden salad and cheesy cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Boy, I hated to give this such a low rating because I had high hopes for this product. I love the ease of using the pre-sliced mushrooms, but, we did not care for the texture at all. The mushrooms had a "rubbery" texture in my opinion. Neither my husband or I cared for the flavor either. I used balsamic vinegar and the flavor just didn't work for us. It needed something else in my opinion. If I had added some beef broth and a little red wine I think we would have liked it so much better. We scraped the mushroom mixture off the steak and unfortunately ended up throwing it out. If the texture of a frozen mushroom doesn't bother you - I say give it a try, but, probably add a liquid of some sort to dilute the vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Used a good balsamic vinegar and family ate it up. A 5 star for me! I did serve family style with green beans and noodles and family was happy with meal. TY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I think this recipe has all kinds of possibilities. I did use a steak of a little more quality, and I did add just a touch of red wine to the mushroom sauce (it needed a little more moisture, so why not?). This made for a very nice dinner along with a salad and a few diced potatoes. Thanks for the recipe, Birds Eye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This turned out better than I expected. I used red wine vinegar. I did season the steaks well before cooking & added quite a bit of salt & pepper to the sauce. We did not have any issue with the texture of the mushrooms. I still felt like it needed something, just not sure what. If we make this again, I will probably grill the steaks & possibly add a little "browning & seasoning sauce" to the mushroom mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
My husband really enjoyed this. I added some beef base to up the beefy flavor of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Country-Fried Steak and Milk Gravy

See how to make a tasty Southern staple: chicken-fried steak and creamy gravy.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States