Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This has to be the best beef slow cooker recipe my friends and family have tried! Fork tender and tasty, the only change I made was to add some flour towards the end to thicken the gravy. No leftovers with this meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
My son said"I really liked that roast beef dinner!".Need I say more. BRAVOOOOOOOOO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
What a great, easy recipe! I used a beef roast and dark beer and it was fabulous! I served it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Can I get a "YUM"?! This was so good. I used a boneless beef blade roast (guess that's from the shoulder) and opted to use a strong, "dark" beer. The only additions were sliced up shallot, a little Worcestershire sauce and some seasoned salt. Oh, and I did use a full head of peeled garlic- I cut slits into the roast and put the garlic in. At the end of cooking time, it was literally falling apart. I removed the roast and thickened the liquids/drippings into a gravy. Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I’ve used red wine in lots of meals, sauce and beer for beer bread, etc., but not in roast. I thought I would give this a try thou I am not a beer drinker. I used almost a 2lb. rump roast and an 8 oz. package of fresh mushrooms for this recipe. It took almost 7 hours in the slow cooker. The aroma of the mushrooms and juices smelled so wonderful. The meat was tender and juicy. I always like mushrooms with roast beef so that was a nice addition. My initial plan was to use all the juices and make a thick gravy to pour over the meat. However, in this particular case the beer I used did not work out at all with this recipe. It tasted very bitter, unpleasant and inedible ruining the juices and taste of meat and mushrooms. I salvaged what I could of the meat and mushrooms and got rid of all the juices. Next time a recipe calls for beer I would prefer to use red wine or stock in its place. I wouldn’t want to completely dock points for not knowing whether or not it was the type of beer used. Overall the ingredients and cooking time did turn out well and it was easy to prepare everything. I served this with, “Swanson Ultimate Mashed Potatoes,” and “Olive Oil Roasted Eggplant with Lemon,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I've used beer with beef roasts (Guinness Draught to be exact) and I've used onion soup mix too (Beefy Onion to be exact). But I've never used the two together and I was a little uncertain about trying it - it turns out I needn't have been. I used a rump roast - I made slits and inserted slivers of fresh garlic. I used just the 8 ounce package of mushrooms I had on hand and that was plenty, tho' I did add several cippollini onions (a nice touch, by the way). The beer taste disappears entirely and gives way to a rich, deep beefy broth. The roast itself is robustly flavored and fork tender. Normally I'll dredge the roast in flour and then brown it in butter but, the truth be told, I was too lazy this time - but it didn't matter as the roast sure didn't seem to suffer for it! Awesome good - glad I tried it in spite of my skepticism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
nothing special for us. dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
It was moist but soooo salty using the onion mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
J thank you!!!! this was soooooo awesome. I did make mentionless adjustments (more mushrooms, some sliced chunks of onion, and finely sliced garlic cloves), but the genius about this redcipe allows everyone to make worry-free additions without any concern for the outcome. I used some weak tasting beer left in the fridge, but the overall flavor still shined through. Just cooked it with a 4 pound arm roast, but unexpectedly I was only one available to make it for dinner. No problem considering the the plans I have for the leftovers: French dip sandwiches with Aujou, unlimited casserole, omelette, and stir-fry dishes. Thanks again J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I used a smaller, different kind of roast. I was careful not to pour the beer on top of the meat but around it. This allowed the onion soup mix to form a very light "crust" on the roast which was quite yummy. Incredibly delicious for such a simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States