Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I used a Sirloin Tip roast, and I added 4 cloves of garlic, half an onion, and Portebello mushrooms. For the Beer I used a La Trappe Quadrupel Trappist Ale. The roast turned out perfect! The gravy was simply amazing, rich and complex! I suggest using a Trappist, or Belgian Ale. These beers rival Red Wine in complexity! Trappists and Belgians have notes of figs, Dates, Plums, and other dried fruits. If you do not have access to Trappists ales, then use any other beer that is rich in malts. Such as Stouts, Porters, and Brown ales. DO NOT USE an India Pale Ales, as they have high hop contents and will make your roast bitter. Also lighter beers will add virtually nothing to your gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
used porter beer and it just wasn't that flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Great. I used a sirloin roast instead of rib roast since it was cheaper and because I didn't have a crock pot I cooked it four hours in a slow (250 degree) over. It turned out great . I will make this again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was soooo good and sooo simple. Like other members I used a Chuck roast instead. I couldn't buy a single can of beer where I shopped, so rather than buy a 6 pack I used a can of beef broth. I saw others taking extra steps to thicken the juices to make gravy, so I followed the advice another chef offered and braised my meat on each side with seasonings and flower before placing it in the crockpot. That made the juices form a nice gravy on their own. Such a good recipe that lends itself to easy modification yet stands on it's own. Can't wait to try it with beer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron Cross

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
okay so this is a bit good my cousins didn't like so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
So Tender! This is fantastic! The family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Absolutely excellent! I also cut up 2 onions into rings and put them as the bottom layer below the mushrooms. Served this with roasted potatoes and roasted carrots. Planned to use the leftovers for sandwiches, but I left the leftovers sitting on my counter all night, and very unfortunately had to pitch them. I was really looking forward to those sandwiches, too. ARGH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Bone in roasts are hard to find so I used a Boneless Chuck Roast It was good but should have tried the roast instead. Next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Loved this! Made it for my family on the day they traveled out to visit me for Thanksgiving (yesterday) so dinner would be ready by the time they arrived. I added some baby carrots (I'll add them in later, next time), and used water instead of beer, and it was great. Sauce just needed a little more thickening, and next time I'll remember to get some frozen pearl onions to add, but really nothing was missing. Served it with some latkes and applesauce! Happy Thanksgivukkah :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States