Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Pretty bland. The meat was tender and wow, I love mushrooms. But there has got to be more additions for flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danznchandee16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Great flavor! As a few other reviewers suggested, I chopped a medium onion and placed it in the bottom of the crock pot, then covered them with 2 cans of mushroom pieces. Had a 3-lb bottom round roast which I cut in half and placed on top of the onions/mushrooms. Followed rest of recipe by sprinkling with soup mix and 1 can of Miller Lite beer. (I don't like beer, so was a little hesitant about that, but you couldn't taste it at all in the finished product.) It was so tender it shredded easily. I just scooped the onions/mushrooms out of the broth and mixed them in with the shredded beef, and we ate on French baguettes. (Didn't bother to thicken the broth, as we just dipped the sandwiches in the broth.) So yummy! My husband loved it -- said he could eat it every day. So versatile -- great on a sandwich, or could be a more hearty meal by thickening broth into gravy and serving with mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was sooo good! I used a 2.5lb beef bottom roast and followed the recipe otherwise. After I removed the meat from the pot I added cornstarch to the Au Jue and turned my crock pot on high for about 10 mins to make a gravy for the beef and some mashed potatoes on the side. Mm Mm Good! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This recipe was great! I completely forgot the onion soup mix, but added extra mushrooms and garlic salt. It turned out fantastic. I had 4 pounds of meat so I added an extra beer. I would definetly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was a hit. I have made something similar, but without the beer. This time I used this recipe minus the mushrooms and added 4 beef bouillon cubes. My husband loved it! He said it was better than his moms, so it must have been good. This would also be good with some peppers in it I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Awesome! I was looking for something different to do with a roast and this was wonderful. I used a chuck roast and it came out very tender and flavorful. Thickened the broth and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Cooked it for 9 hours.. didn't need a knife to cut but was a little dry. Great flavor! Added more mushrooms than recipe, also added carrots, quartered onions and potatoes. The best pot roast I ever made.. I'll try adjusting the cooking time to make it more tender. Used chuck since they say that makes for a very tender roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This recipe is a keeper. The taste's are fabulous. I cooked it on low for 8 hrs. and the meat was a little dry, next time I will cook for 7, and will add more mushrooms. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Repentigny, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I loved this, the roast turned out well. I used a chuck roast and alot of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I will not be making this again. It was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States