Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This turned out amazing. My husband hates roasts normally, but went back for seconds with this recipe (and asked for leftovers in his lunch tomorrow). This is now our go to roast recipe and I'm looking forward to making it again soon. I used a bottle of New Belgium 1554 (Black Ale) and I added a small coarsely chopped onion and a spoonful or two of minced garlic. I really think that using a nice full bodied beer makes a big difference in this recipe, and think that using a Bud Light (or similar) would result in a pretty bland dinner when it was all said and done. I paired the roast with some home made mashed potatoes (skin on lumpy mash) and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My husband absolutely loved this. I'm not a huge beer fan, so I wasn't too thrilled with it, but will definitely make it again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! I've made it twice now as an Italian Beef recipe. I added a jar of pepperocini. It is the best Italian beef recipe ever! By using the package of onion soup mix instead of Italian dressing mix, it's not as salty tasting. I've also baked the leftovers with egg noodles and cheese as a casserole dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Made this tonite for a special occasion, WONDERFUL! Used a can of Kilkenny, an amazing Irish beer, just as I would use a top of the line red for a boeuf bourguignon... delicious, juicy, (brazed it before cooking), marvellous “gravy”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Super delicious!!! I used a chuck roast instead and added a few potatoes. It turned out fantastic! I used a red beer and thought it had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I normally use an envelope of onion soup mix for my roast (which I love), so the thought of using beer was a twist. Being a Bud Light drinker, that's what I had on hand and honestly...it didn't make much of a difference from the water I normally used. Will try this again with a much stronger beer. I didn't follow everyones "garlic mashed" suggestion, I put some potatos in the beer. WOW! Now those were good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This recipe was good, but the meat lacked flavor. The mushrooms were good, and we added carrots which also turned out well. At the suggestion of others, we made garlic mashed potatoes that went really well with the juice from the meat, but the actual meat was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thepicklechef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
YUM!!! My kids, who are picky beef eaters, loved it. One picked out the mushrooms but another tried the mushrooms and is now a mushroom lover! Serve with mashed potatoes and a salad and it is a winning meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
THis is the BEST roast reciepe I have ever had! 5 stars! I didnt change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The recipe was easy to prepare. As a few reviewers suggested, I rubbed the meat with garlic and added an onion to the recipe. I used a brown beer from New Hampshire (from the beer of the month club). Due to weather issues, I had to wait for more than 10 hours before serving. The meal held up well with the extra cook time. Overall, the beef was moist and the sauce tasted good on potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States