Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
used the onion soup mix recipe from this website (used better than bullion as base), used a 2/12 lbs sirloin that I salt and peppered then browned. Added carrots and potatoes to bottom of crock pot. At the end I thickened the save on the stove w/ some flour. cooked for 7 hrs on low. Used Sam Adams beer.Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Loved this. So easy. I took the advice of others and used a cheaper cut of meat and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Tender, tasty and easy to make, just the rib roast was a bit expensive, but all worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I substituted a 4 lb. boneless chuck roast (exceptionally easy to shred!) After cooking, removed from cooker and let cool, then shred with a fork. I also removed liquid, thickened on stove to make a gravy, then added everything back to cooker. As suggested by others, makes great sandwiches the next day or a great chili meat, too!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I used a 3# chuck roast and for the beer I used Bush lite. everything else was the same.The flavor was really good, will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I added a tbsp of minced garlic and a bay leaf to the liquid, seasoned the roast well with Worchestire sauce, no salt seasoning mix and pepper. When I removed the roast the liquid was just salty not really beefy tasting so I added a pouch of sodium free bouillon, pepper and some horseradish sauce, it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I did add slivers of garlic to the roast as suggested. Meat was so tender and had a great flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Great recipe! I took other posters' advice and added sliced onions on the bottom and also used the onion soup mix recipe on this site. I put everything together the night before so it was ready to go first thing in the morning. I also fried up a few additional mushrooms, because you can never have too many mushrooms, added the liquid and veggies from the slow cooker to the pan and reduced slightly before thickening with cornstarch and served with mash potatoes. Received rave reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
beef was bitter and dry, mushrooms were not good, and the problem exists because the original poster and many reviewers have refused to post what "beer" they've actually used ... all beers are not the same and even the same type of beer is quite different between each brewer ... after seeing "dark beer" posted and an ocktoberfest beer mentioned i used 2 bottles of Paulaner's Octoberfest Mäizen which apparently was a huge mistake ... i will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This roast was delicious despite the fact that I chose a bitter beer (Guinness Draught). I didn't taste the bitterness until I tasted the sauce and it was an after taste. I hate bitter beers! My SO likes to trick me into tasting bitter beers just to see my "bitter beer face". Next time I make this, I'll use something I would drink. I should have known that because that's what they always say when cooking with wine. The beer did not ruin the roast and I used a cheapish 2 pound bottom round roast because there's only 2 of us. After about 10 hours, I couldn't slice it because it just wanted to shred. Tomorrow, I'll make cheese steak sandwiches with the leftovers. Thanks J for a great and oh so easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States