Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I've used beer with beef roasts (Guinness Draught to be exact) and I've used onion soup mix too (Beefy Onion to be exact). But I've never used the two together and I was a little uncertain about trying it - it turns out I needn't have been. I used a rump roast - I made slits and inserted slivers of fresh garlic. I used just the 8 ounce package of mushrooms I had on hand and that was plenty, tho' I did add several cippollini onions (a nice touch, by the way). The beer taste disappears entirely and gives way to a rich, deep beefy broth. The roast itself is robustly flavored and fork tender. Normally I'll dredge the roast in flour and then brown it in butter but, the truth be told, I was too lazy this time - but it didn't matter as the roast sure didn't seem to suffer for it! Awesome good - glad I tried it in spite of my skepticism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
nothing special for us. dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
It was moist but soooo salty using the onion mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
J thank you!!!! this was soooooo awesome. I did make mentionless adjustments (more mushrooms, some sliced chunks of onion, and finely sliced garlic cloves), but the genius about this redcipe allows everyone to make worry-free additions without any concern for the outcome. I used some weak tasting beer left in the fridge, but the overall flavor still shined through. Just cooked it with a 4 pound arm roast, but unexpectedly I was only one available to make it for dinner. No problem considering the the plans I have for the leftovers: French dip sandwiches with Aujou, unlimited casserole, omelette, and stir-fry dishes. Thanks again J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I used a smaller, different kind of roast. I was careful not to pour the beer on top of the meat but around it. This allowed the onion soup mix to form a very light "crust" on the roast which was quite yummy. Incredibly delicious for such a simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This turned out amazing. My husband hates roasts normally, but went back for seconds with this recipe (and asked for leftovers in his lunch tomorrow). This is now our go to roast recipe and I'm looking forward to making it again soon. I used a bottle of New Belgium 1554 (Black Ale) and I added a small coarsely chopped onion and a spoonful or two of minced garlic. I really think that using a nice full bodied beer makes a big difference in this recipe, and think that using a Bud Light (or similar) would result in a pretty bland dinner when it was all said and done. I paired the roast with some home made mashed potatoes (skin on lumpy mash) and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My husband absolutely loved this. I'm not a huge beer fan, so I wasn't too thrilled with it, but will definitely make it again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! I've made it twice now as an Italian Beef recipe. I added a jar of pepperocini. It is the best Italian beef recipe ever! By using the package of onion soup mix instead of Italian dressing mix, it's not as salty tasting. I've also baked the leftovers with egg noodles and cheese as a casserole dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Made this tonite for a special occasion, WONDERFUL! Used a can of Kilkenny, an amazing Irish beer, just as I would use a top of the line red for a boeuf bourguignon... delicious, juicy, (brazed it before cooking), marvellous “gravy”
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Super delicious!!! I used a chuck roast instead and added a few potatoes. It turned out fantastic! I used a red beer and thought it had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States