Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Simple and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was fantastic. Next time I'll put another 8 oz. of mushrooms, because we love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
12-20-11: The juice had a very nice taste, meat was nicely done after 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
The only mistake I made with this recipe is I didn't read the reviews first and spent $25 on a piece of meat. I will make this next time with a much cheaper cut of beef. Other than that it was fabulous. Made a nice gravy out of the juice and served it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I unfortunately did not have a positive experience with this recipe. The beef came out stringy and semi-tough. It's possible it was the beef itself but I don't think I will attempt again. Thank you for sharing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Worked extremely well with Bone-In Beef Ribs - used "New Castle" beer and "Beefy Onion" dry soup mix (also sprinkled Montreal Spicy Steak seasoning on ribs before the onion soup mix) - 9 hours later...they were done to perfection - continually basting with the fat side up - the flavor was oh so unbelievably wonderful ! Perfect Dinner...well worth the wait and super easy to throw together !! Simply Excellent !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is great! I threw it together in about 5 minutes before heading to work and let it look after itself. I thickened the juice with a tablespoon of cornstarch near the end to make a thicker gravy and we had it with mashed potatoes. Tomorrow night I think we will try the cheese steak sandwiches. My husband and I both work full time and getting good hot meals that are stress free are important. Definately will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is very good. I have also mixed onion soup mix with a can of coke and poured it over the roast and gravy is very dark and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This is a nice recipe for beef and mushroom pot roast, but why use a standing rib roast, which is much better roasted with dry heat. An arm roast or chuck roast works well here and is a LOT less expensive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Liberty, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I been cooking this recipe for decades! Super easy and tasty. Add sliced onions to the bottom of the slow cooker along with the mushrooms for another tasty addition. Strain the liquid from the vegis to a sauce pan, add some beef stock and thicken with a roux to make a nice gravy to accompany the dish. However; DO NOT use a standing rib roast for this recipe unless you are rich and WANT to waste your money and ruin a beautiful piece of meat! This recipe (or any recipe using a low and slow, moist heat cooking method) should always and ONLY use a cheaper cut like a chuck roast or similar tough cut of beef. A rib roast is already a tender cut and does not need or respond well to the long cooking times used in slow cooker recipes needed to break down connective tissue and render out fat. If you want to cook a rib roast use a DRY heat method. Otherwise enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States