Mushroom Slow Cooker Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Nice recipe; I had to substitute the standing rib roast (I didn't have the heart to crock-pot an expensive cut like that!), using instead a bottom round. I smoked it quickly on the Weber as well, and gave it a bit of char as well. Then into the crock pot, but substituted the beer with Young's Double Chocolate stout. Turned out fantastic! Thanks for the recipe posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingForOne
Home Town: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
As I generally have no time to spare in the morning, the night before I placed fresh sliced mushrooms and onion on the bottom of the slow cooker, added a chuck roast that I had inserted fresh garlic into small slits, used the dry onion soup mix as a rub, and put it in the frig. The next morning I took it out, added a bottle of ale, and let it cook on low all day. The smell that greeted me when I walked in the door made my mouth water! It was tender and juicy. I thickened the sauce for gravy, and served it with mashed potatoes and fresh green beans. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Didn't try the recipe, but I hope u didn't use the dog in the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
great roast....can use coke instead of beer if you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
tried the recipe for a small dinner party at my home ---got all kinds of WOW's and such--of course I took all the credit(not true I shared your site ---thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It's very good as written but as some reviewers said, chuck is best for pot roast (a la Julia Child, PBS episode one!). "Beer roast" is Belgian-style, for the foodie types. I never use 'onion soup mix' but it's no big deal to use onion, pepper and beef stock (or the salty bouillon). I like to thicken the gravy one hour before serving. Beer is Belgian-style, red wine is Beef Bourguignon. It's an easy, excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It sounds delicious. I don't always have a beer so I would use a can of Pepsi or Ginger Ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Lessard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Wonderful! I added lots of onions and garlic too but did NOT use an expensive rib roast. Use a cheap chuck roast that is meant for braising. Use a beer as strongly flavored as you can get. Very good recipe but save that rib roast for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I used an Irish Red. I love mushrooms so I added 12 oz white, 8 oz baby bella's. While I was buying the shrooms, I noticed some dried morel's. I boiled in water for 20 minutes and used the morel's and the water I boiled them in. It had turned brown and looked like it should be added. 2 pkgs of soup mix also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
The whole family love this. Made it exactly as the recipe is written. Very tender and so delish! Super easy too! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burlterri
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States