Mushroom Sauce Baked Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This is a nice "homey" recipe (even myself and my bf - both of us confirmed mushroom haters!) liked this! I like the fact that it is a meal-in-one dish. Be sure to slice your potatoes thin so that they cook all the way through in the alloted amount of time called for, or else your pork chops will be overdone and your potatoes won't be completely cooked. I seasoned my chops with seasoned salt in lieu of table salt to add more flavor (I didn't pre measure the salt, pepper or garlic powder either - just seasoned to taste). I also added some minced garlic from a jar to the soup mixture and shredded cheddar cheese to cover the casserole. This is similar to the pork chop and potato casserole recipe by Wendy on this site (hence the idea for adding cheese). The pork chops go well with green beans or a tossed salad and dinner rolls on the side. A cold glass of milk completes the meal! This one's a definite keeper : ) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
My family really liked this one. I did use boneless chops and two cans of mushroom soup to one can of milk and used frozen O'brien hash browns to save time which worked better than I thought it would. All in all it was tasty and quick to put together for a busy mother of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hickory Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Delicious tender pork, creamy flavorful potatoes -- this recipe is a real keeper! The directions "until potatoes are tender" are important -- my potatoes weren't done at 60 minutes of baking, but they turned out perfectly with 20 more minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Fabulous doesn't begin to describe this recipe!! I make it at least once a week. I am not that great of a cook so my husband was pleasantly surprised when he came home to dinner to this the first time! He went on and on about how good it was! I am so thrilled to have this recipe, I'm sure it will be in our family for years to come! I wish I'd had this before. I did add some cajun seasoning to the meat. It just adds a little zing to the pork. Other than that I stuck to the recipe and I love it! In fact, I just got done making it again! Thanks so much, J Hilgenberg for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Overall, easy and good. I thought 2 large onions would be too much, so I used 1 onion and 1 garlic clove. Also, left out the potatoes because I served with mashed potatoes (great gravy!) While baking, I left the dish covered for an hour; uncovered it and cooked 10 more minutes. Very tender this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Wonderful! I baked them for an hour, but ended up having to put the dish in the microwave because the pork still wasn't done, and the potatoes weren't tender. To cut down on the fat, I used only 1 Tbl. butter (turned out fine!). I also used only 1 onion, and it was plenty! I didn't bother measuring the seasonings - just sprinkled all 3 on both sides of the meat. Next time, I may try adding another can of soup, as others suggested, to make it thicker. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I DECIDED TO TRY THIS AS SOMETHING NEW AND DIFFERENT AND MY FAMILY LOVED IT ... MY POTATOES WERE COOKED PERFECTLY U JUST HAVE TO SLICE THEM VERY THIN....THIS WAS A VERY EASY AND TASTY NEW TWIST TO JUST BORING CHOPS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Mayhem
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was just ok. It needs a lot more seasoning than called for, or maybe more soup. The potatos came out fine without extra cooking as I sliced them extra thin. I'd like to try this again, but I'm going to have to figure out how to zing up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Mayhem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Very good recipe. I sliced the potatoes very thinly, and flipped them over halfway through cooking, some were still a bit crunchy but fine. I reduced the amount of onions, and potatoes since I only had 4 chops (had more sauce because of this which was great). Next time I will add chopped mushrooms. Even better if you sprinkle parmesan cheese on top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This was a great one dish meal. The end result was plenty salty so taste before you salt at the table. I really loved the potatoes and the meat was very tender. All you need is a green veggie and maybe some bread to help sop up the gravy and you have a filling and easy meal. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States