Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Very good. I used baby bellas and sweet onion for the shallots. I did not have beef broth, so I used chicken and a bit gravy browner. Very tasty with roast lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very good! I used about 2 tbsp. of olive oil instead of all of the butter. I also used some chicken soup mix with water instead of the beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I used this for steak, didn't have arrowroot, but it was wonderful, the flavor was unbelievable.I let it simmer a good 30 minutes...the mushrooms were perfect.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lady Lake, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I went searching for a sauteed mushroom recipe, and this is the one I decided to use. We cooked steaks and chicken on the grill, and it all went perfectly together. The shrooms were absolutely awesome. Will definitely use again and again. Next time I may use a little less broth because there was so much broth left over and not many shrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Served over sirloin beef tips -- Yummy! and I'm not even a fan of mushrooms. Made it and even my 2 yr old toddler (who eats nothing more than plain pasta most days) loved it. I used cornstarch in place of the arrowroot powder and just sprinkled enough until it got to the consistency I wanted. Remember, the sauce does thicken upon standing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I loved this recipe!! I served it with steak and it was a huge hit. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anderswin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I made this for Christmas Eve. It was absolutely delicious. Easy too. Used cornstarch instead of arrowroot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This sauce is awesome -- you'll impress your dinner guests! I served it over roasted pork loin - yum! I chopped the mushrooms after sauteeing them. I used cornstarch instead of arrowroot powder & it thickened fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Excellent and easy! Great way to impress company. Subbed 2x corn starch for Arrowroot since I had none. Worked GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildchild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Just wanted to try something different. This was a thin sauce, not bad, but nothing special. I prefer A-1 steak sauce (guests did too). If you grill a good steak, it really doesn't need to be hidden under a sauce like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States