Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Normally, I don't give 5 stars to recipes that I tweak. However, this was so well-received it warrants an exception. I added about a 1/4 cup of cream and doubled the cornstarch (no arrowroot) to thicken it up a bit. Served over chopped steak and smashed 'taters. This was SO good that my mother's husband, who is on hospice care and has zero appetite, cleaned his plate. The man is also a VERY critical foodie. He now says that I'm an excellent cook. Thank you, Jimmi. You made my dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Wow! I just made this in 15 min. Super easy, fast, and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Was looking for a sauce similiar in taste to my Mom's Bordelaise sauce; this one worked out well. I did add whole cloves and peppercorns in addition to the other herbs to make it taste more like my Mom's. As many others had said they didn't have arrowroot to thicken their sauces, I hate to admit I didn't have it either; I used cornstarch instead. I finished it with a splash of tarragon vinegar for brightness/freshness. The sauce hit the spot, thank you Jimmi for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This sauce is DELICIOUS! I consider myself a pretty good cook, and this sauce made me feel like a pro! I grilled steaks and smothered this all over them and our plates were so clean when were were done eating we could have put them back in the cabinet : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was good but not great... will keep tweaking. I had no arrowroot so subbed tapioca. Also added tarragon, parsley, and basil to give it a little more depth. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I was looking for something to fancy-up our steaks on New Years Eve and this was perfect. I was worried it would be too gravy like, but it wasn't at all. I also substituted onions & garlic for the shallots and used corn starch instead of the arrowroot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thiensville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This is a elegant, flavorful sauce. I used olive oil instead of butter, chicken broth instead of beef, and cornstarch instead of arrowroot powder. It didn't thicken quite as much as I'd hoped, but it was fabulous over liver crepes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
We used diced onion and garlic instead of shallots and also substituted cornstarch for arrowroot. We used cremini mushrooms. It was a well balanced sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Good sauce for steak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amied

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This really does make a fantastic sauce. I used it during the holidays with a tenderloin - froze the leftovers and had it with chopped steak. Both times, I caught my 92-yr-old grandma (a tough food critic) wiping the last of it off her plate with her finger. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOKLMEMBER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States