Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
WOW, this was fantastic! I married a man who won't eat mushrooms. In fact, he caught me stirring my mushrooms with the same spoon as a dish for him and had a fit! This is a wonderful solution. I can have my mushrooms without "contaminating" his food. I made this recipe exactly as written, except I halved it. The combination of flavors is magnificent. This is company worthy and I'm already planning to include it in my next dinner party menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Excellent sauce! I used corn starch instead and thickened it to my taste. I tripled the recipe but kept the the beef broth to 2 cups. I also didn't bother with reserving any mushrooms, instead I added the onions to the butter first until translucent, then added all the mushrooms until tender, and then the wine etc. I served it over grilled pork chops and accompanied it with Grandma Jeanette's Amazing German Red Cabbage on this site. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Jessica.nemec
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This was really tasty. I modified it all little bit; I added habenero for a bit of a kick, and threw in some dill and caraway seeds, too. I used onion instead of shallots, since I had it on hand. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Excellent! Great addition with a filet steak
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I absolutely adore this recipe. Although I didn't have the arrowroot it was still delicious. I used it over white rice and now I want seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was really good. I didn't have shallots or arrowroot, so I substituted cornstarch, and it was still yummy! I am vegetarian, so I also substituted vegetable broth instead of beef broth and just served it over quinoa. I will have to try it again with the shallots, and I'll probably try adding some other veggies as well to round it out to a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Delicious. I made it exactly as directed except for the shallots. I didn't have one so I used 2 parts onion to one part garlic. This tasted delicious. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This is so delicious. I subbed 2 TB cornstarch for arrowroot, and onions for shallots since that's what I had. I used a few more mushrooms than called for. So easy, I don't know why we don't make sauces like this more often! Served over minute steaks and whole wheat gnocchi - perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The sauce is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is a wonderful sauce. I made it exactly as written, served it over rib eye steaks, and my husband and I licked our plate clean. We used about half of it with the steak and potatoes, so the next day I put the remainder in a sauce pan, stirred in another cup of beef broth and brought it to a simmer. Then I added about a half cup of sour cream, stirred it in, and served it as soup. That too was wonderful. The only substitution I made in the original recipe as that I used cornstarch rather than arrowroot (not a staple in my kitchen). When I make it again I'll use a big more, as we would have liked it a bit thicker. I'll have to see how well this freezes. I'd love to make up batches of it, freeze it, and have it ready ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States