Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Great! I added some chives for flavor, tripled (at least) the parsley, omitted the celery, switched the whole milk for 1%, and omitted the heavy cream to save calories. If you like spice you should add a bit more to give this some extra zest, but a really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlemont, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great Recipe. Used Shiitake mushrooms for better flavor. Will definitely make it again and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
this is not rissotto. Is is a nice mushroom rice but real rissoto does not contain milk. The creaminess comes from the starch in the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gizzysmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Margate, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Made this one with filet minon's with creamy peppercorn sauce, asparagus and granacha wine. Great Combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I sauteed a few more mushrooms at the end for more flavor- tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Please , Can anybody tell me if I need to cover the pan when is cooking or not????????/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was the best risotto that I'v ever made. I used shitake mushrooms that I had bought at the local farmers market. To cut a few calories and fat, I used fat free evaporated milk instead of cream and 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese. Added some of the left over evaporated milk when heating up the left over risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
YUM! I'll make this again and again! I thought the amount of cream was just right, though I used a little less parmesan and butter. Delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren & Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is an excellent start for making your own risotto. Like others, I tweaked it for my own tastes. I left out the parsley and celery, and instead of using milk and cream, I simply used whole milk. I also don't like mushrooms, so instead I added cooked orange or red bell peppers for a pop of color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Smelled really great while I was making it -- BUT I think it had way too much parmesan cheese in it, and I only used 3 cups of chicken broth (5 seemed a bit excessive). I would put a whole stalk of celery in it next time, I added some oregano, and would cut the parm cheese at least in half to make this more tolerable. With a few changes, recipe could be great, but as is seems to just be missing something. Also makes way too much for 4 servings - I would cut the recipe in half for 4 people :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States