Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
We made the 6 portions recipe, it askes for 7.5 cups of broth, but we only used 5 cups and we think it would've been better with just 4 cups for a more hearty texture. It probably depends on the type of rice used. We used the rice shown in the previous entry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Not a spoonful of this hot number was left! I used Aborio rice and used greater amount of celery and mushrooms to add volume. I don't usually have whole milk so I substitued fat free milk and reduced it by 1/4 cup and increased the heavy cream by 1/4 cup. Next time, I want to experiment with different varieties of mushrooms and some other spices as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a delicious dish, whether it's authentic or not. I've made this recipe several times - a couple of times exactly as the recipe says and several times with variations, and it's always a hit with my family and company. That's why I like this particular recipe so much, it's easy to play around with if you don't have all the ingredients the recipe calls for - I've made it without the mushrooms, several times by using chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, one time with evaporated milk (yes, don't gasp foodies!), with 2% milk and no cream, many times using only a quarter cup of the Parmesan, and sometimes with no Parmesan cheese at all...and all varieties were very good and received compliments. My husband did say he preferred this dish with less than half of the Parmesan or none at all. I had to agree - using the full cup made it a bit overpowering to our taste. I do think works best to prepare it in a heavy-bottomed, good quality skillet, as I noticed that when I used a lightweight skillet it took quite a bit longer for the risotto to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
awesome! any rice will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yesaire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This recipe was horrible. I would never make it again. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
My first attempt at Risotto, I always heard it was hard. I too only used fat free milk and no cream and it was plenty creamy enough. I forgot fresh parsley and used dry and it was fine. I omitted celery and did not feel it was missing anything the mushroom taste really came through. I will be adding this to one of my all time favorite sides. Even my non eating mushroom son thought it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lv2plyglfgal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Excellent! I skipped the celery and used all skim milk as I was out of cream. Was incredibly rich and fantastic comfort food. 5 cups on the broth is a max... I added a cup at a time over 20-25 minutes and probably used three or four cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I so enjoy risotto rice, and you must use the arborio rice to give it a good flavor. I wonder why though why people change the reciepe? It's great just the way it is. this is a great recipe and does not need to be changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This recipe is magnificent! tasted it the whole way through, the flavors were perfect, the missing star is because the Parmesan at the end kind of ruined the flavor, deadened it if you will. Next time I will leave off the cheese, it is unnecessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States