Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Made this twice now and first time used extra milk and no cream. Second time used cream both times it was Resturant quality. Thank you so much x
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Made this tonight as a side dish. I did a few alterations though, I learned to sauté the risotto rice before adding any liquids. So after I sautéd the veggie part (which I will use more parsley next time to season), I added the rice and after I "crisped" that for a moment, I added the HOT broth. As many others I did not use any milk to the recipe, but added a tablespoon of heavy cream, although it was quiet creamy already. I also suggest adding a bit of white wine for flavor if available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
a little salty. i wont add any salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This was a BIG hit with my family. Instead of the milk & cream combo I used fat free half & half. I went by something I saw on Martha Stewart a few years ago and sauteed the arborio rice first, then started adding the broth a little at a time while continuously stirring. I added the half & half towards the end. Served it with fontina cheese and a few roasted red pepper slices on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Jamil

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I have cooked this a few times and the family love it. I don't add cream but do add the milk. Wine is added if available. Different mushrooms and lots of them chopped small with onions work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Absolutely delicious though I made the following changes based on other comments: 1 medium onion instead of 3 small, substituted and extra 1/4 cup milk for the heavy cream, 2 cups of veggie broth instead of 5, 3-4 cups mushrooms instead of just 1 1/2 cups, and 1/3 cup parsley instead of a measly teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I used cooked white rice, 2% milk and only 2 cups of the vegetable stock. Restaurant-quality meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This was delicious! My husband and kids loved it! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I love this recipe! So flavorful and delicious. That being said, am I the only one who thinks 3 onions, even small ones, sounds like A LOT of onion for a recipe that is supposed to only serve 4 people? I like onions as much as the next person, but that seems really excessive. When I make this recipe I switch the onion and garlic quantities; so 3 cloves garlic and one onion. I also replace both the milk and the cream with fat free half and half. The recipe doesn't state what type of rice to use, so I generally use brown. I have used the generic take-forever-to-cook brown rice and it works fine, but I have found 2 pouches of Trader Joe's frozen brown rice works great and cooks so much faster. Which is great because, well, sometimes a girl is just too hungry to wait! P.S. It's a good idea to wait until all the vegetable stock is in before you add the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Cooking this right now. A co-worker and I do a food swap every couple weeks. He makes puerto rican and spanish foods and I make him italian. This week was rice so I'm making him this. He has a mushroom allergy so I just replaced them with carrots. Haven't made risotto in years and this recipe was very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Calcara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States