Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I love this recipe! So flavorful and delicious. That being said, am I the only one who thinks 3 onions, even small ones, sounds like A LOT of onion for a recipe that is supposed to only serve 4 people? I like onions as much as the next person, but that seems really excessive. When I make this recipe I switch the onion and garlic quantities; so 3 cloves garlic and one onion. I also replace both the milk and the cream with fat free half and half. The recipe doesn't state what type of rice to use, so I generally use brown. I have used the generic take-forever-to-cook brown rice and it works fine, but I have found 2 pouches of Trader Joe's frozen brown rice works great and cooks so much faster. Which is great because, well, sometimes a girl is just too hungry to wait! P.S. It's a good idea to wait until all the vegetable stock is in before you add the salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanmachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Cooking this right now. A co-worker and I do a food swap every couple weeks. He makes puerto rican and spanish foods and I make him italian. This week was rice so I'm making him this. He has a mushroom allergy so I just replaced them with carrots. Haven't made risotto in years and this recipe was very good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Calcara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michel
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Easy and so good. I used Chicken broth, half and half (didn't have heavy cream). I also didn't have Parmesan anymore, so i used a mix of kraft dinner cheese. Sound silly, but it was Terrific:-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Really good. Next time I will add less cheese. The parm seemed a bit over powering. Overall delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have made this twice, first time "to the letter," second time with some alterations. Though as-is it is very good, the second go-round I halved the onions, eliminated the heavy cream and used chicken broth - only because I didn't know I was out of veggie when the process began. Though not a monumental difference,the 2nd effort was better. It was a little bit lighter (though no less creamy), the chicken broth added more flavor, and the onions were more on par with my preference. I hate when onion overpowers the dish. All in all a great recipe and one I shall return to to tweak yet again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Media, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this recipe to the exact detail and I loved it but it was so rich I could only eat a little at a time. I would recommend using half and half instead of heay cream and 2% or even skim milk for the whole milk. I also used 1/2 parm and 1/2 romano cheese and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Kept the same basics but as follows : no garlic, 1/2 teaspoon of celery seeds and parsley added fresh at the end.The mushrooms I used were dry sliced Asian ones I had re-hydrated in hot water for 1 night and they cooked with the rice. Also I used broth and no milk, only a little bit of cream at the end. Very good risotto but I would recommand to be light on the Parmesan cheese who can be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Yum!! Arborio rice, melted butter instead of olive oil, didn't have garlic or parsley or celery (hate celery), used skim milk and no cream! Also used a mixture of vegetable broth and chicken broth. Loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Made this for romantic Valentine's dinner. It was my first time making risotto and it was absolutely superb. Used skim milk and 5%, instead of the higher fat options above. Turned out perfect! My boyfriend loved it. Keeping this in my arsenal as a sure ire showstopper when I entertain. Try it, you will not regret it. I used some oyster mushrooms along with plain white sliced ones I had in the fridge. I now understand that with risotto, you really have to " keep your eye on it and keep stirring", for the duration of cooking. Coupled it with halibut steaks and sautéed kale and grilled peppers. Thank you for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Took alot longer to get rice to cook, would definately recommend covering during the cooking process. Did not have the taste that I was expecting, did not have the rich creaminess that you'd expect with a risotto. Not worth the time it took to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States