Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Smelled really great while I was making it -- BUT I think it had way too much parmesan cheese in it, and I only used 3 cups of chicken broth (5 seemed a bit excessive). I would put a whole stalk of celery in it next time, I added some oregano, and would cut the parm cheese at least in half to make this more tolerable. With a few changes, recipe could be great, but as is seems to just be missing something. Also makes way too much for 4 servings - I would cut the recipe in half for 4 people :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: California, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I loved this recipe! I brought it to a recent dinner party and it was a huge hit. One of the hosts had never enjoyed mushrooms before, but ended up eating a huge helping and even finished off the rest for breakfast the next morning. This is a recipe that takes some serious patience. I did change a few things, such as using chicken broth instead of vegetable. I did not use any celery, as other cooks suggested, and I used the arborio rice. I did use extra mushrooms, and I feel that it could even have used more. I used half of one large onion in place of three small onions. As others have already stated, the part where you add the stock is deceptive in the recipe. You want to add one cup at a time, then wait until all of the stock is absorbed into the rice before pouring in the next cup. I did use all five cups. This was a real pleaser and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This is amazing, first time I make risotto and I had guests over, we all loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pink_Fate
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Perfect risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This was an excellent recipe, however I made a few changes. instead of cream, I used skim milk (2 cups) and instead of vegetable stock, I used 1 cup of my favourite white wine. turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Better than Bouillon makes a mushroom stock concentrate that works wonderfully here. I make it the broth with half mushroom, half chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Fantastic! Really delicious - even my sister, who hates mushrooms AND risotto, really loves this when I make it. I put in more mushrooms than the recipe calls for, as I love them, and substitute fresh, chopped chives for the parsely. I also find that it doesn't need half as much stock as the recipe suggests, but perhaps I am doing something wrong. This has become one of my my favourite recipes - to cook and to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Fantastic recipe! The only modification I make is to add 1 cup of white wine (to deglaze the sauteed garlic and onion from the bottom of the pan). My family and friends love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
YUMMMY! I added spinach to the mushrooms and cooked up some chicken breast in garlic and added that in when it was all done and BOY it was AMAZING! Super delicious! Really not hard to make either just took a little time. Definitely worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was good, because it used ingredients I had on hand, but it is definitely not risotto. Risotto uses Arborio rice, and the creaminess comes from the starch in the rice, not cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States