Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a delicious dish, whether it's authentic or not. I've made this recipe several times - a couple of times exactly as the recipe says and several times with variations, and it's always a hit with my family and company. That's why I like this particular recipe so much, it's easy to play around with if you don't have all the ingredients the recipe calls for - I've made it without the mushrooms, several times by using chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, one time with evaporated milk (yes, don't gasp foodies!), with 2% milk and no cream, many times using only a quarter cup of the Parmesan, and sometimes with no Parmesan cheese at all...and all varieties were very good and received compliments. My husband did say he preferred this dish with less than half of the Parmesan or none at all. I had to agree - using the full cup made it a bit overpowering to our taste. I do think works best to prepare it in a heavy-bottomed, good quality skillet, as I noticed that when I used a lightweight skillet it took quite a bit longer for the risotto to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
awesome! any rice will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fair Haven, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yesaire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This recipe was horrible. I would never make it again. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
My first attempt at Risotto, I always heard it was hard. I too only used fat free milk and no cream and it was plenty creamy enough. I forgot fresh parsley and used dry and it was fine. I omitted celery and did not feel it was missing anything the mushroom taste really came through. I will be adding this to one of my all time favorite sides. Even my non eating mushroom son thought it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lv2plyglfgal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Excellent! I skipped the celery and used all skim milk as I was out of cream. Was incredibly rich and fantastic comfort food. 5 cups on the broth is a max... I added a cup at a time over 20-25 minutes and probably used three or four cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I so enjoy risotto rice, and you must use the arborio rice to give it a good flavor. I wonder why though why people change the reciepe? It's great just the way it is. this is a great recipe and does not need to be changed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This recipe is magnificent! tasted it the whole way through, the flavors were perfect, the missing star is because the Parmesan at the end kind of ruined the flavor, deadened it if you will. Next time I will leave off the cheese, it is unnecessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
The taste is all there, and I like that it starts with milk because it seems creamier than most risotto recipes I have used. I am giving it 4 stars out of 5 because it calls for about a cup more liquid than it needs. Not perfect but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
First time making it and really enjoyed it. I only used 3 cups of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States