Mushroom Risotto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Really good. Next time I will add less cheese. The parm seemed a bit over powering. Overall delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I have made this twice, first time "to the letter," second time with some alterations. Though as-is it is very good, the second go-round I halved the onions, eliminated the heavy cream and used chicken broth - only because I didn't know I was out of veggie when the process began. Though not a monumental difference,the 2nd effort was better. It was a little bit lighter (though no less creamy), the chicken broth added more flavor, and the onions were more on par with my preference. I hate when onion overpowers the dish. All in all a great recipe and one I shall return to to tweak yet again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Media, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I made this recipe to the exact detail and I loved it but it was so rich I could only eat a little at a time. I would recommend using half and half instead of heay cream and 2% or even skim milk for the whole milk. I also used 1/2 parm and 1/2 romano cheese and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Kept the same basics but as follows : no garlic, 1/2 teaspoon of celery seeds and parsley added fresh at the end.The mushrooms I used were dry sliced Asian ones I had re-hydrated in hot water for 1 night and they cooked with the rice. Also I used broth and no milk, only a little bit of cream at the end. Very good risotto but I would recommand to be light on the Parmesan cheese who can be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Yum!! Arborio rice, melted butter instead of olive oil, didn't have garlic or parsley or celery (hate celery), used skim milk and no cream! Also used a mixture of vegetable broth and chicken broth. Loved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Made this for romantic Valentine's dinner. It was my first time making risotto and it was absolutely superb. Used skim milk and 5%, instead of the higher fat options above. Turned out perfect! My boyfriend loved it. Keeping this in my arsenal as a sure ire showstopper when I entertain. Try it, you will not regret it. I used some oyster mushrooms along with plain white sliced ones I had in the fridge. I now understand that with risotto, you really have to " keep your eye on it and keep stirring", for the duration of cooking. Coupled it with halibut steaks and sautéed kale and grilled peppers. Thank you for this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Took alot longer to get rice to cook, would definately recommend covering during the cooking process. Did not have the taste that I was expecting, did not have the rich creaminess that you'd expect with a risotto. Not worth the time it took to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
We made the 6 portions recipe, it askes for 7.5 cups of broth, but we only used 5 cups and we think it would've been better with just 4 cups for a more hearty texture. It probably depends on the type of rice used. We used the rice shown in the previous entry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Not a spoonful of this hot number was left! I used Aborio rice and used greater amount of celery and mushrooms to add volume. I don't usually have whole milk so I substitued fat free milk and reduced it by 1/4 cup and increased the heavy cream by 1/4 cup. Next time, I want to experiment with different varieties of mushrooms and some other spices as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is a delicious dish, whether it's authentic or not. I've made this recipe several times - a couple of times exactly as the recipe says and several times with variations, and it's always a hit with my family and company. That's why I like this particular recipe so much, it's easy to play around with if you don't have all the ingredients the recipe calls for - I've made it without the mushrooms, several times by using chicken broth instead of vegetable broth, one time with evaporated milk (yes, don't gasp foodies!), with 2% milk and no cream, many times using only a quarter cup of the Parmesan, and sometimes with no Parmesan cheese at all...and all varieties were very good and received compliments. My husband did say he preferred this dish with less than half of the Parmesan or none at all. I had to agree - using the full cup made it a bit overpowering to our taste. I do think works best to prepare it in a heavy-bottomed, good quality skillet, as I noticed that when I used a lightweight skillet it took quite a bit longer for the risotto to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Chef John's Baked Mushroom Risotto

Chef John's rich, creamy risotto lets the oven do some of the work. Genius!

Zucchini Risotto

This creamy Italian rice dish makes an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States