Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This is really, really good. But I have one suggestion that will improve it a great deal. I never cook white rice, so I can't speak knowledgeably about it. But, if you use BROWN rice, try soaking the rice in water for about 20 minutes before cooking (be sure to drain it), then cook the rice in plain water with just a little oil or butter and NO salt (or chicken broth with NO SALT CONTENT). The rice will cook faster and turn out MUCH softer and plumper with presoaking and without the salt. To get that chicken broth flavor, you can add chicken bouillon after the rice is cooked. Brown rice cooked in a salty liquid just doesn't ever get really done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
484 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nixa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Use Crimini mushrooms (Baby Portabello's) and beef broth...Double up on the amount of mushrooms...Vegetable broth can also be used....Top w/ grated parmesean cheese just before serving and sprinkled with some snipped chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Excellent! Just pay attention to the rice/lquid ratio. 1 to 1 for minute rice or 1 to 2 for long cooking rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
This is a yummy recipe.. turns out great everytime... i use my rice cooker to cook this and i find that the broth - rice ratio should be 1:1, especially if using white rice (i use basmati). I have cooked this several times when i have had unexpected guests and it turns out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Let's just put it this way...I served this to accompany some beautiful veal chops and I could have eaten the whole darn pan...of this rice. (I didn't, but that's because I restrained myself) Rather than sauteing the green onion, I used red...and added the parsley and some chopped green onion just before serving - and most likely more butter. I'd love to try this with dried porcini mushrooms, using the soaking liquid from the mushrooms to cook the rice. It's a simple name for a simple rice side dish but it should not be underestimated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This was a so-so side tonight with dinner.....I have made much more flavorful rice recipes from here....I shouldn't have gone against my normal Brazilian White Rice from here. Anyhow...not bad but not great. Thanks anyway Jennifer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Thanks for the inspiration for tonites dinner. I just finished making the best mushroom rice ever and hubby said the greens i made to go with it were not even needed. I started off by using about 2 tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of oil and I sauteed about 20 small button mushrooms maybe more thinly sliced, 5 cloves of garlic thinly sliced, 2 spring onion and 1 medium onion cut in half and thinly sliced, few sprigs of thyme because I love it, a teaspoon or so of dried oregano a teaspoon or more of salt and a few dash of worchestishire sauce for about 15 min until the mushrooms were really soft and dark brown. I then added the rice and cooked the rice in the mushrooms for about 10 min max stiring a lot to avoid it sticking over medium heat. Then I added beef stock to get the added brown colour and taste. YUMMY! I let the liquid come to a boil then i put on the lid and put the heat on low and then once the rice was still firm but all the water was absorbed i took the lid off and took the pot off the heat so that the rice wouldnt over cook while it cooled down a bit. So excited for left overs tomorrow, i wanted to lick the pot when it was done it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2002
WE LOVED IT! After the first review, I was kinda leary, but it worked out great for me. I had a box of Rice A Roni on hand (just in case) and it was put back into the pantry. My 15 month old soveled it in! I used Minute Rice & cut the cook time down kinda like you would with Minute Rice & it did not turn out dry at all. Thank you Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This rice was really good - I served it for company and it was real easy to make and much better than plain rice. If you use long-grain rice, it is only 1 cup rice to 2 cups broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Be careful when using long-grain rice! I used 1 cup of rice, which is a normal 4 servings for us, but needed 2 cups of broth. With that adjustment, it turned out fine. Nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States