Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
What a delicious, quick, simple, healthy recipe! And I'm not even a mushroom fan. I think the key to making this recipe is using a high quality chicken broth. The only thing I had trouble with was getting the rice soft (i used brown). I'm thinking next time I will cook in in my rice cooker first. I did make several adjustments but I believe the original recipe would be just fine as is :) here is what I changed: I made homemade chicken broth with a couple chicken breasts, carrots, half an onion, garlic, parsley, salt and pepper. I boiled that until the chicken was just done. The. I removed the chicken and cut into bite sized pieces. I added a couple stalks of diced celery and the other half of the onion from the chicken broth with the mushrooms. I also doubled the amount of garlic. I ended up cooking for almost 2 hours waiting for the rice to soften. I added more broth several times and stirred the chicken in towards the end. Easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I really liked this! Out of necessity, I had to make a few minor substitutions, but not enough to substantially change the recipe. I didn't have the green onion, fresh mushrooms, and parsley on hand, so I used about 1/4 of a regular onion chopped up, chopped about a half a can of well-drained mushroom pieces, and 1/4 tsp dried parsley. (It was an impromptu dish and it was all I had, what's a working mom to do?). Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was very good. However, I prefer using the sweet onion in this dish rather than green. I like the savory combination of mushroom and onion. That's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jenness Nawrocki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was an easy, tasty side dish! I used cremini mushrooms and upped the garlic and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Excellent...made it with double the mushrooms....only change."guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Keeper! I've been making "Lipton Onion Soup Mix Rice" for decades - not any more. This is really good and far healthier! Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I modified the recipe in the following way and my husband and I really liked it. Plus, it's super easy to make. Alterations to recipe: 2 cups diced mushrooms, 1 cup cooked chicken - diced, 1 tsp dried rosemary, 1 Tbsp sherry, no parsley. Everything else from original recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I love the recipe but had to increase the heat to cook down the fluid at the end of 20 minutes. I will decrease the amount of broth next time to see if I get the results others have in the past. I think people probably should stick with white rice only with the fluid measurement in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I sometimes add a bit of parmesan cheese or feta at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Persian Rice

See how to make an actual foolproof method for cooking perfect rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States