Mushroom Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Made exactly as instructed and it was delicious! I was tired of the prepacked rice choices so I gave this a whirl...made it with chicken Cordon Blue II (also on this site) and it was the best meal I've made in ages!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
What a delicious, quick, simple, healthy recipe! And I'm not even a mushroom fan. I think the key to making this recipe is using a high quality chicken broth. The only thing I had trouble with was getting the rice soft (i used brown). I'm thinking next time I will cook in in my rice cooker first. I did make several adjustments but I believe the original recipe would be just fine as is :) here is what I changed: I made homemade chicken broth with a couple chicken breasts, carrots, half an onion, garlic, parsley, salt and pepper. I boiled that until the chicken was just done. The. I removed the chicken and cut into bite sized pieces. I added a couple stalks of diced celery and the other half of the onion from the chicken broth with the mushrooms. I also doubled the amount of garlic. I ended up cooking for almost 2 hours waiting for the rice to soften. I added more broth several times and stirred the chicken in towards the end. Easy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I really liked this! Out of necessity, I had to make a few minor substitutions, but not enough to substantially change the recipe. I didn't have the green onion, fresh mushrooms, and parsley on hand, so I used about 1/4 of a regular onion chopped up, chopped about a half a can of well-drained mushroom pieces, and 1/4 tsp dried parsley. (It was an impromptu dish and it was all I had, what's a working mom to do?). Thanks for the recipe, I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was very good. However, I prefer using the sweet onion in this dish rather than green. I like the savory combination of mushroom and onion. That's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shiny me

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This was an easy, tasty side dish! I used cremini mushrooms and upped the garlic and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Excellent...made it with double the mushrooms....only change."guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Keeper! I've been making "Lipton Onion Soup Mix Rice" for decades - not any more. This is really good and far healthier! Thanks so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I modified the recipe in the following way and my husband and I really liked it. Plus, it's super easy to make. Alterations to recipe: 2 cups diced mushrooms, 1 cup cooked chicken - diced, 1 tsp dried rosemary, 1 Tbsp sherry, no parsley. Everything else from original recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I love the recipe but had to increase the heat to cook down the fluid at the end of 20 minutes. I will decrease the amount of broth next time to see if I get the results others have in the past. I think people probably should stick with white rice only with the fluid measurement in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Green Cove Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 331) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States