Mushroom Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I have been making this recipe for years but not in a skillet. Brown your chops (butterfly chops are the best, No bone) with seasoning. In a 9x13 pan pour in your Cream of mushroom soup OR golden mushroom soup with 1/2 can of milk. Bake @ 350 for 1 hour & cover with foil. MMMmmm good! The easiest & most tender chops around. Serve with potatoes & use the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1882 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I only gave this four stars as it is, but when I changed it a bit it was fantastic. When I make this now, I brown the chops really well and then I de-glaze the pan with a bit of white wine. after the alcohol cooks off a bit I lower the temp and add some minced fresh garlic, a pinch of thyme, the soup, the fresh mushrooms and put the chops back in. Comes out fantastic every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1466 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This is a great recipe. I poured a little olive oil in the pan and sauteed a clove of garlic before placing the salted chops in the pan. Once they were brown, I removed them & sauteed the onion & mushrooms. While those were cooking I whisked about a half cup of dry white wine & a half cup of milk in with the mushroom soup and added a tablespoon of fresh tarragon & some fresh ground pepper. I returned the chops to the pan & poured the sauce over them. I covered them & simmered for about 30 minutes. There was pleanty of yummy mushroom sauce to pour over the chops & the rice. This would be good with potatoes, too. This is a recipe that when served looks like it took hours to make, but is really very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1007 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I also use the golden mushroom soup for this recipe. For a one dish meal, I just put the pork chops in a 9x13 dish, pour in all the ingredients, add potatoes and cover tightly with foil bake at 350 for about 40-45 minutes. Big Hit at my house and really easy when you don't want to cook...which is pretty much every evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
My husband loved this! I did make some changes based on reviews. I tenderized the chops, rubbed in seasonings & browned them in a skillet with oil. I sauteed onions w/ fresh garlic & then added them to the chops. I increased the soup to 2 cans & added white wine & milk (I really felt that gave it more flavor, thank you to the reviewer who recommended that!) I poured it over & also added fresh mushrooms (I didn't saute them simply because my husband brought them home with him). They turned out really well...I simmered it for a good 30-40 minutes. I made mashed potatoes with it, and used the leftover mushrooms and onion to saute with some green beans and garlic. The only thing I may try next time is a marinade before browning the chops to give them even more flavor. I gave it a 5 because it's a wonderful base recipe that can be tweaked to your liking, I'm not sure if I would have liked it as much without the changes, though. Great meal idea, super easy and adaptable, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Simply delicious! I would give it a higher rating if it were possible.I also used fresh garlic,2 cans of soup and 1/2 can of milk, as someone else suggested.Didn't brown chops,just dumped everything into baking pan and cooked,covered, at 350 for about 1-1/2 hrs.Meat was very tender.Gravy was great,served over noodles.Hubby & son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This recipe tempted me based on the few ingredients and time to prepare/cook. As written, it was okay, not great, not bad! Definitely lacking something.... hmmmm! Probably will not make again without adding seasonings, so as written, only 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Absolutely delicious!! After the pork chops were browned I removed them from the pan and sautéed the onion and mushroom with some fresh garlic. When the onion was tender I added some red wine (pinot noir) to de-glaze the pan then put the chops back in and added the soup mixed with a bit of milk. This recipe was very easy and everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Excellent with a few changes. Mixed 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup white wine with soup, poured over browned chop mixture, and baked in oven for one hour covered. Moist, tender chops with to die for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Awesome...I'll make this recipe again. First I seasoned the chops with salt, pepper, garlic powder and Old Bay Seasoning, browned the chops in olive oil and butter. I don't like canned mushrooms so I used Shitake mushrooms and I sliced the onions in rings, then cut them in half so the onions were larger slices rather than chopped. I used two cans of mushroom soup and mixed about a cup of white wine with the soup before adding it to the chops. I found that I needed to cook this longer than what's called for in the recipe, I cooked for a full hour and the chops were VERY tender. Served with white rice, fabulous !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States