Mushroom Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I have been making this recipe for years but not in a skillet. Brown your chops (butterfly chops are the best, No bone) with seasoning. In a 9x13 pan pour in your Cream of mushroom soup OR golden mushroom soup with 1/2 can of milk. Bake @ 350 for 1 hour & cover with foil. MMMmmm good! The easiest & most tender chops around. Serve with potatoes & use the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1582 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I only gave this four stars as it is, but when I changed it a bit it was fantastic. When I make this now, I brown the chops really well and then I de-glaze the pan with a bit of white wine. after the alcohol cooks off a bit I lower the temp and add some minced fresh garlic, a pinch of thyme, the soup, the fresh mushrooms and put the chops back in. Comes out fantastic every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
This is a great recipe. I poured a little olive oil in the pan and sauteed a clove of garlic before placing the salted chops in the pan. Once they were brown, I removed them & sauteed the onion & mushrooms. While those were cooking I whisked about a half cup of dry white wine & a half cup of milk in with the mushroom soup and added a tablespoon of fresh tarragon & some fresh ground pepper. I returned the chops to the pan & poured the sauce over them. I covered them & simmered for about 30 minutes. There was pleanty of yummy mushroom sauce to pour over the chops & the rice. This would be good with potatoes, too. This is a recipe that when served looks like it took hours to make, but is really very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
826 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I also use the golden mushroom soup for this recipe. For a one dish meal, I just put the pork chops in a 9x13 dish, pour in all the ingredients, add potatoes and cover tightly with foil bake at 350 for about 40-45 minutes. Big Hit at my house and really easy when you don't want to cook...which is pretty much every evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
My husband loved this! I did make some changes based on reviews. I tenderized the chops, rubbed in seasonings & browned them in a skillet with oil. I sauteed onions w/ fresh garlic & then added them to the chops. I increased the soup to 2 cans & added white wine & milk (I really felt that gave it more flavor, thank you to the reviewer who recommended that!) I poured it over & also added fresh mushrooms (I didn't saute them simply because my husband brought them home with him). They turned out really well...I simmered it for a good 30-40 minutes. I made mashed potatoes with it, and used the leftover mushrooms and onion to saute with some green beans and garlic. The only thing I may try next time is a marinade before browning the chops to give them even more flavor. I gave it a 5 because it's a wonderful base recipe that can be tweaked to your liking, I'm not sure if I would have liked it as much without the changes, though. Great meal idea, super easy and adaptable, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
207 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
Simply delicious! I would give it a higher rating if it were possible.I also used fresh garlic,2 cans of soup and 1/2 can of milk, as someone else suggested.Didn't brown chops,just dumped everything into baking pan and cooked,covered, at 350 for about 1-1/2 hrs.Meat was very tender.Gravy was great,served over noodles.Hubby & son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This recipe tempted me based on the few ingredients and time to prepare/cook. It was okay, not great, not bad! Definitely lacking something.... hmmmm! Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
Absolutely delicious!! After the pork chops were browned I removed them from the pan and sautéed the onion and mushroom with some fresh garlic. When the onion was tender I added some red wine (pinot noir) to de-glaze the pan then put the chops back in and added the soup mixed with a bit of milk. This recipe was very easy and everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
Excellent with a few changes. Mixed 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup white wine with soup, poured over browned chop mixture, and baked in oven for one hour covered. Moist, tender chops with to die for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Awesome...I'll make this recipe again. First I seasoned the chops with salt, pepper, garlic powder and Old Bay Seasoning, browned the chops in olive oil and butter. I don't like canned mushrooms so I used Shitake mushrooms and I sliced the onions in rings, then cut them in half so the onions were larger slices rather than chopped. I used two cans of mushroom soup and mixed about a cup of white wine with the soup before adding it to the chops. I found that I needed to cook this longer than what's called for in the recipe, I cooked for a full hour and the chops were VERY tender. Served with white rice, fabulous !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 994) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States