Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was very easy to make and yummy. I used a pie shell for bottom and folded down the edges to give a peasant look. Also used half sour cream and half heavy cream. Turned out perfect, thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was WONDERFUL! I followed the recipe as written, except to add 3 cloves of minced garlic. For the reviewer who thought the bacon would be raw - the bacon cooks with the saute and finishes in the oven. For the reviewers who found it runny, you didn't let it cook down enough. When the cheese is added it firms up beautifully. It was easy and delicious. Thank you, and your mum Gatoula. This will make a regular appearance on our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
The first time I made this, I thought it was too oily and heavy. This time around, I made a few changes-- increased the amount of mushroom to ~14 oz, coarsely chopped the mushrooms before adding, added 3 small chopped scallions in addition to the onion, subbed sour cream for half the heavy cream, and added half a large cube of soft chicken bouillon during the reduction phase. I also cooked the veggies down until past the phase where the mushrooms give off water, so the tastes were fairly concentrated by the end. It turned out very savory and not nearly as oily as before. Tasted great both hot from the pan and cooled in mini phyllo pastry shells. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Very tasty when its fresh, but it doesnt reheat so well. Next time I'll put the filling in tart shells :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
We all loved this pie...my three year old kept asking for more and she is a very picky eater. I made it with a bit more mushrooms than called for and next time will try adding spinach. I would also recommend using the puff pastry while it is still a bit firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made this to try and impress my Russian husband, and although he was not familiar with it... I thought it was delicious! I can't wait to make it again, thanks for sharing GATOULA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I made this for Thanksgiving with my parents (my first as a married hostess!) and it was a huge hit! I made a lot of changes the first time because I didn't have a lot of the things on hand, and it actually tasted as amazing or better than when I followed it to the T! My changes: subtract the bacon (to vegitarianize for a Friday), use 2% milk instead of heavy cream, add 1 tbsp butter to melt in after the milk, use a roll-out pie crust, and mozarrella instead of swiss (about 1/2 cup more than required, for good measure)! It's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittleFlour
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
my only problem with this recipe is that my husband is really greedy with it, wants the whole thing for himself, so for holidays, I make one for him, one for the rest of us... it is a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
A keeper! Made in tart pan with filo. Doubled the filling and used 2/3 cup sour cream in place of heavy cream, 3/4 pound bacon, fried then the fat removed, 10oz baby swiss. Many thanks, GATOULA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was a great hit at Thanksgiving. I have given the recipe out 3 times since. I added green onions. In the future I will try this stuffing in filo cups and wonton wrappers. Mixing it up I'll always have a new hit with one basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States