Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This pie was wonderful. We used half and half and made it in a college dorm kitchen and it still turned out great! We also went the easy way and used a bought pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Top Notch! Try subbing 1/2 ea Emmental & Gruyere. Very subtle flavours. You may want to increase the dill by just a tad. Try to get your mixture well into the corners so you don't end up with just pastry there. If you've used flour to roll out your pastry, you might want to moisten the edges for a good seal. Ovens vary so keep an eye on it the last 10 minutes or so. There is a raging debate on whether they are better warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I loved, loved, loved this! I only used 1/2 pkg of puff pastry, just folded the four corners over the filling. I subbed sour cream & a splash of reg. milk for the heavy cream. I sauteed the onions with the mushrooms but removed them since I only wanted the onion flavor. I love mushrooms and this was a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I have tried so many recipes from this site but have never taken the time to rate them. I think it is time I did. We really enjoyed this and I'm sure anyone who likes mushrooms will definitely enjoy this too. I did fry up the onions along with the mushrooms before adding them and used a combination of swiss and chedder. I am always looking for something new and different and this was very nice. Thank you for a great new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I used several suggestions from reviewers and didn't follow the recipe and was disappointed! With the results I got, I would rate it only 2 stars but I gave it 4 since I didn't make it as written. I used pie crust and increased the ingredients by 1½. I used tarragon instead of dill. Husband and I thought the dish just ok. I will try again and use the recipe as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Enjoyable, especially for a recipe I picked to use up what was in the house! What surprised me most was that DH liked it too. He did say that it was too rich to eat a lot and suggested turning it into tiny turnovers for an appetizer. I only made one ingredient substitution, which was to use sour cream (added off the stove with the cheese) instead of heavy cream (didn't want to go to the store). I did have an issue with the recipe instructions. Putting the onion, bacon and mushrooms in the pan all at once resulted in the bacon staying quite unappetizingly flabby and pink and streaked with fat. I had to cook the mixture WAY longer to get the bacon to render most of the fat. I'd suggest cooking the bacon a few minutes, then adding the onion, cooking again for a bit and finally adding the mushrooms and cooking until they are done. Also, puff pastry rises and gets crisp better at 375 than the 350 the recipe calls for. I'd definitely recommend trying the recipe with puff pastry. The crispy lightness is really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This is AMAZING! I didn't have any puff pastry so I used a frozen pie crust and it worked perfectly - I did add some extra mushrooms to fill it completely. I also used fat-free half and half and a combination of swiss and havarti cheese. I will definitely make this again! INCREDIBLE!! Thank you for sharing the recipe for a mushroom-lovers dream! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Gatoula, this is delicious! The puff pastry takes it over the top! Once, when I had none in the house, I used Pillsbury Crescent rolls. Baked them up first in an 8x8 Pyrex, making sure some of it went up the sides (you'll need 2 rolls for that method.)Added the mushroom mixture and baked about 20 minutes longer @ 325. It was outstanding that way, as well. My husband would even eat this stuff right out of the frying pan. Thank you so much for the recipe! He has requested it a dozen times since I first made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
My husband enjoyed this very much. I added spinach, which he loves and which I don't, so I didn't enjoy it as much as I would have without the spinach, but I will definitely save this one. I ended up making it with canned mushrooms as my husband misunderstood my grocery list, and I used a refrigerated pie shell instead of puff pastry, but everything came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Amazing! We used pre-made pie crusts and mozzarella cheese it turned out wonderfully. It has a kind of carbonara flavor that is just excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States