Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
A standout dish, and the mushroom filling is superb. Olive oil is not needed as the bacon produces plenty of grease. Like others, first cooked the bacon to assure it being crispy. Used 50% more mushrooms since filling an extra deep ceramic pie dish, and subbed 8 ounces sour cream for heavy cream. Extra ingredients were also added . . . 1 fresh jalapeno pepper (minced), green onions and about 1/ 4 cup dry white wine (sauvignon blanc). When made again, replace the puff pastry with a pie crust, and don’t lattice the top with dough. Bake at 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Absolutely fantastic....a huge hit with everyone! I would make this again in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Love this, it is so good. Not complicated and has the high end resturant look and taste. I used multiple types of mushrooms. Best eaten the same day, left overs are good just the puff pastry is not as crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vemfinger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I make it all the time when it's cold outside, it makes you warm! I follow the recipe except I don't normally have Swiss cheese on hand. I use half a cup mozzarella cheese and half a cup Romano cheese instead! It's a weird mix but the pie comes out absolutely perfect every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Turned out really nicely. Will make again. Also froze very well. Im just cooking for one, so I froze about half the pie and re-heated it later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was really good for a mushroom lover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
SO AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Photo by Angela W
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I am so glad that I tried out this recipe, it was a huge hit! I used reviewer's suggestions and made this in a 9" pie crust, with a lattice top, I also followed the suggestions to make 1.5 times the filling and it was too much, I ended up filling a large ramekin with the extras. I sub'd dry dill for fresh, but kept the rest the same. I served it with a green salad and the three of us almost finished the whole thing. There was just enough left for one person for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela W

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Too much filling for the puff pastry, but could be just right for a pie pan. Adding some other veggies would make this a well-rounded meal. Let the cream (or whatever substitute) cook down before taking off the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMASHAKE
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
So good! I used portobello mushrooms and added a bit more cheese. I also used a regular pie crust (that I made myself) because I forgot to get puff. Really great! My family said to add more bacon LOL! Tastes like what you'd get in a pub with gravy and nice salad. A definite keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASHAKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States