Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Absolutly wonderful! I used Monteray Jack cheese instead of swiss. I also added some white wine and a little minced jalepeno pepper for some bite. Great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This is amazing. I found the first time i made it, there was too much liquid. The next time I made it, cooked the bacon crisp first, broke into pieces and added to the onions while they were cooking. Also added some fresh asaparagus cut up at same time and cooked until barely tender. Thank you for this great recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I added ground beef seasoned with garlic salt because my family ate so much of the filling - it was delicious! The puff pastry was a bit too much for us because it overshadowed the wonderful flavors of the mushroom mixture. Next time, I will try a thinner crust (pie crust) so that we can enjoy the yummy mushroom filling more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Fasnacht

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was fantastic! I invited my mother over for dinner and tried this on her, she loved it as well! I think we will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seeshells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
This was wonderful. I used a combo of mushrooms (shitake,cremini,white,portobello)and tarragon instead of dill. Used the puff pastry shells and filled them with mushroom filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This was SOOO GOOD and baked so beautifully! I took it to a potluck dinner; my dish was the only one to be completely cleaned and everyone wanted the recipe! After adding the cream, I cooked it until the cream was reduced... After placing the mixture on top of the first sheet of pastry, I brushed the edges with an egg/water mixture and then after placing the second sheet of puff pastry, crimped the edges with a fork. I didn't have any problems with run-off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODGU1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
This made an excellent appetizer! I love most anything that calls for puff pastry and this was no exception. I used fat free half and half and some white wine for flavor. Sherry would have been really nice, but I didn't have any in the house. I cooked the mushrooms until most of the liquid evaporated so I had no problems with "run off". Absolutely delicious and thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was great - I used milnut instead of cream. I baked it the day before and then reheated it for 30 minutes at 325. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
I was worried about making this pie as I am not that confident a cook.It was unbelievably simple to prepare and boy is it delicious! I have made it three times in as many weeks and will continue to do so.It freezes well and my husband loves taking a slice to work for his lunch. I usually have a little filling left over which is really tasty on top of some wild rice. This is a superb recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rochester, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States