Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
REALLY TASTETY!!! I will definately make again. The flavor is hard to describe. Revisions made: halved the muchrooms and onion. Not as good with cressant roll dough. Definately use a pie crust! Also I only ever use just one- on the top of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Insanely delectable. I substituted sour cream for the heavy cream, but it was still a touch thin. A bit of flour or starch would help thicken the mushroom liquor. Make sure to use fresh dill, it really ties the flavours together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Really tasty, but extremely rich and filling. Also, I think 1 sheet of puff pastry would be plenty for the amount of filling called for. Next time I would probably increase the dill to about a tbsp. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This is wonderful and easy to make. I have made it numerous times now and its a wonderful "do all" dish. It makes a great side dish as well as a main course with a nice salad. Be careful though it's filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobertSRQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This was a great recipe. I added a cup of sour cream with the cheese instead of using the heavy cream, and I used vegetarian bacon slices. It was very easy and looked nice. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
This pie was wonderful. We used half and half and made it in a college dorm kitchen and it still turned out great! We also went the easy way and used a bought pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Top Notch! Try subbing 1/2 ea Emmental & Gruyere. Very subtle flavours. You may want to increase the dill by just a tad. Try to get your mixture well into the corners so you don't end up with just pastry there. If you've used flour to roll out your pastry, you might want to moisten the edges for a good seal. Ovens vary so keep an eye on it the last 10 minutes or so. There is a raging debate on whether they are better warm or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I loved, loved, loved this! I only used 1/2 pkg of puff pastry, just folded the four corners over the filling. I subbed sour cream & a splash of reg. milk for the heavy cream. I sauteed the onions with the mushrooms but removed them since I only wanted the onion flavor. I love mushrooms and this was a great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I have tried so many recipes from this site but have never taken the time to rate them. I think it is time I did. We really enjoyed this and I'm sure anyone who likes mushrooms will definitely enjoy this too. I did fry up the onions along with the mushrooms before adding them and used a combination of swiss and chedder. I am always looking for something new and different and this was very nice. Thank you for a great new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I used several suggestions from reviewers and didn't follow the recipe and was disappointed! With the results I got, I would rate it only 2 stars but I gave it 4 since I didn't make it as written. I used pie crust and increased the ingredients by 1½. I used tarragon instead of dill. Husband and I thought the dish just ok. I will try again and use the recipe as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States