Mushroom Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
This filling is very good. I used puff pastry and put it in a 10" pie pan. I cooked the bacon before adding the mushrooms and onion to the pan, and substituted half & half for the heavy cream. I will definitely make this again. I like the idea of increasing the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I thought this would be like a stuffed mushroom, but it wasn't at all...not a bad flavor, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phoebe
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I think it might have gone better with regular pastry rather than phyllo. Nothing wrong with it but with a mixture of gourmet mushrooms, heavy cream, fresh dill and Swiss cheese, it was not as good as anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Its very good. Recipe was followed exactly as written. It reminded me a bit of quiche, must be the swiss cheese. Very easy. I would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Made it yesterday. It's good but a little bland. We used a couple extra slices of bacon and substituted Jarlsburg for the Swiss. Also added some ground cayenne pepper to perk it up. Oddly enough, the leftovers were pretty decent for breakfast. Still, every time I take a bite, it makes me want a piece of apple strudel instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
My husband and I LOVED this! I added 1/4 of white wine when I added the cream and cooked the bacon about 5 minutes before I threw in the onions and mushrooms. The puff pastry was light and fluffy...the perfect comfort food! Leftovers were amazing too. I ended up draining some of the sauce before I placed the mixture on the dough, and then we used that as a nice topping when I served it. :-) Next time, I plan to add spinach to the mix! Yummmmo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Whatley Few

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HollyRose13
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Bottom line: delicious. Hubby asked that it be put into our regular dinner menu rotation. Details: I'm not a fan of dill, so I swapped it out for fresh thyme and sage. Couldn't get any puff pastry in time, so we used pie crust. And I didn't have any Swiss cheese, so I used the lite Havarti I had in the fridge. I also threw in a clove of garlic, just because. Absolutely heavenly. Can't wait to try it again with the puff pastry! Although, if I do, I won't be able to use my adorable woodland creatures cookie cutters on the crust. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was so delicious! I put the mushroom mixture in ramekins and topped each one with a round of puff pastry then baked. Christmas 2013. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious! I followed some feedback from others and used 1 pie shell, added shitake mushrooms in addition to criminis and substitued cream with part reduced fat sour cream and part half and half. Hubby loved it! Will definitiely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Came out a tad 'wet'. Will give this a go again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States