Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was an easy and quick side dish. I didn't have pearl onion, so I used a chopped medium onion instead. At the advice of another reviewer, I used chicken broth for more flavor (and left out the salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Excellent recipe. I used canned mushrooms and it tasted just great. Jusst cook it for alittle less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
We loved this. I used less wine and a little chicken broth. Also, I cut the butter in half and could have even used a little less. It was so good! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Excellent!! I substituted red wine for the white, and everobody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Pedigo Skaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hubbard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I used chopped onion, and per the other reviews, substituted chicken broth for the water. This is a flavorful side dish that's quick and easy! Will add more mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This was great!!! I did make a few minor alterations. I can never seem to make and recipe as is! I always change it slightly!!! I used half the amount of butter it called for, used chicken broth instead of the water, used red onion (that's what I had on hand) and omitted the parmesan cheese because the white wine gave is such a nice flavor I didn't want to alter it! Excellent side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lantana, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is the third time I made this recipe. This time I changed it up a bit. I added grilled chicken, shrimp and extra mushrooms. I doubled the liquid ( chicken broth, water and wine). It was really good. We had it as a main dish. January 18, 2010- Writing again just to say that I still use this recipe regularly. I even use it with a good short grain rice and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This is great!! I only used half of the butter called for and it was just fine. I also used 1.5 cups of chicken broth and the 1/2 cup of wine and it was just enough liquid.If you like this one be sure to also try the "Orzo with parmesan and basil" from this sight. It too is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I served this one night with Chicken Marsala. Straight up 5 stars. This was DELICIOUS!!! I couldn't believe how good it was. Thanks for the recipe, it's going in my rotation of meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandalyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I made this last might for dinner with chicken - it was fantastic. I used sliced baby portobello caps, diced yellow onion, and a can of low sodium chicken broth instead of water and white wine. I also just sprinked the top with fresh parmesean - it turned out perfect. I plan to make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States