Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Oh wow, will THIS ever be a repeat in my house! For extra flavor I used dried porcini mushrooms which I soaked in hot water for about 25 minutes. I then used the soaking liquid for the water called for. What a boost of flavor! Pearl onions not a staple in my house, I simply substituted chopped, sweet onion, though shallots would me nice too, and added fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder. My only criticism is that half the amount of butter called for would have been adequate, and I am a fan of butter! I served this with Pesto Cheesy Chicken Rolls, also from this site. Update to original 4/4/08 review: For those like my husband who (go figure!)dislike it, you might want to go a little easier on the Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This is the third time I made this recipe. This time I changed it up a bit. I added grilled chicken, shrimp and extra mushrooms. I doubled the liquid ( chicken broth, water and wine). It was really good. We had it as a main dish. January 18, 2010- Writing again just to say that I still use this recipe regularly. I even use it with a good short grain rice and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I loved this side dish. I didn't have pearl onions so I used half a regular onion chopped up and I added minced garlic and extra mushrooms. You can never have too many mushrooms. The wine gave it such a great flavor. Oh, and I used chicken broth instead of water. This really was great. I will definately be making it again and again! Thanks BABARCLAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I used chopped onion, and per the other reviews, substituted chicken broth for the water. This is a flavorful side dish that's quick and easy! Will add more mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Excellent recipe. I used canned mushrooms and it tasted just great. Jusst cook it for alittle less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I had to use 2X the amount of water listed and cooked it for about 3X as long as it recommended. Good side dish, easy to make. I also used most of a smaller yellow onion and a portabello cap instead of pearl onions white mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was an easy and quick side dish. I didn't have pearl onion, so I used a chopped medium onion instead. At the advice of another reviewer, I used chicken broth for more flavor (and left out the salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Really good, would be better if I would have had fresh Parmesan on hand instead of the powdered :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I previously rated this after making it once. Since then, I have made it more and played with the recipe just a tad, and now I LOVE it!! Have made it several times and I crave it. For the mushrooms, I just used button mushrooms, and 1/2C as the recipe called for turned out to be 3 mushrooms...not enough, at all. I now make it with like 10 button mushrooms, I'd even add more. I use chopped white or yellow onions instead of the pearl, and I use one minced garlic clove instead of garlic powder. I also increased the wine to 2/3C, I really like that wine flavor. So, with those changes I now love this recipe and plan to make it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Not bad...the only thing I would change is using chicken broth for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States