Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Absolutely delicious. Made substitutuions based on previous reviews and what I had available. Subbed regular onions for pearl and used half the butter (still very rich). Used chicken broth in place of water/wine but added about 3 tablespoons wine vinegar (read somewhere that diluting water with wine vinegar would be a good substitute). Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is wonderful. I lightened it up with light margarine and added 1 cup chopped eggplant. Will cook this again. The calories were under 300 per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watson, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Really delicious. I cut back a little on the butter, used red onion instead of pearl, fresh garlic instead of powder and omitted the parmesan. Turned out great! Wine flavour really comes through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I had a mushroom orzo from our local italian restaurant that I have been craving, and this was nearly identical...and delicious! Next time I would add more mushrooms (perhaps shitake) and finish with some truffle oil. I doubled the sauce and added shrimp in the last 5 minutes of cooking and allowed it to rest for a few minutes after. Absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Love this recipe!! It was dripping butter when I made it the first time with the amount called for and was way too much butter for me. I have made this about 10 times since and used only 1/2 the butter. I added a little more wine to make sure there was enough liquid. I will continue to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Like every good allrecipes reader, I checked out the reviews before starting this dish, and these are my modifications (not that the original had anything wrong with it): No pearl onions, so I just cut up two small regular yellow ones and sauteed them with sliced mushrooms with olive oil and butter. At the same time, I roasted some asparagus to add, just because I love it and was using the oven anyway. When both were done I set them aside and I toasted the orzo in butter and olive oil until it was well coated, then added 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock and 1/2 cup of white wine, adding more when the liquid disappeared so that it was all absorbed and the flavors vibrant. Then I threw the veggies back in the orzo and did the Parmesan on individual plates, to taste. Yum! I get weirded out by melted Parmesan. Once, on a recipe like this, but not this one at all, I let the Parmesan sit in the heating dish and it got thick and gloopy and kind of hard and I nearly stopped consuming cheese for awhile, because I kept picturing it in my arteries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Really good, would be better if I would have had fresh Parmesan on hand instead of the powdered :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Amazing!!! I swapped the water for chicken broth and added 1/4 cup more and also added spinach. Had it with meatballs. You have to try this, it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I prepared this recipe for the first time tonight and it was delicious. It had such a wonderful, rich, tasty flavor. I modified the recipe and added more more mushrooms, canola oil and margarine instead of butter. I also replaced the garlic powder with fresh garlic and the pearl onions with yellow onions. The next time I prepare this recipe, I plan to either eliminate the orzo and incorporate it into a veggie or all mushroom lasagne and/or prepare it as a pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States