Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I love this recipe, made as a main dish with Chicken Kebab's for the valentine dinner last night. I did add a dash of chilli flakes and Asparagus cut into 2 inch pieces to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made this a few times now always delish. I have used both fresh and canned mushrooms. fresh is better but can works in a pinch. must try it . great as a side or a filling main dish! my whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
So I thought this was a great way to start out! I too used Chicken broth instead of water but added 1/2 c due to other reviews. 2nd try I will omit the extra liquid and see how it cooks up. (resembled sloppy risotto) but my 4 stars is due to the strong wine taste. Nxt time I will halve the wine. (I onlycook with good quality wine I would drink!) Topped w fine parm chz and green onions only cause i did not have parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I previously rated this after making it once. Since then, I have made it more and played with the recipe just a tad, and now I LOVE it!! Have made it several times and I crave it. For the mushrooms, I just used button mushrooms, and 1/2C as the recipe called for turned out to be 3 mushrooms...not enough, at all. I now make it with like 10 button mushrooms, I'd even add more. I use chopped white or yellow onions instead of the pearl, and I use one minced garlic clove instead of garlic powder. I also increased the wine to 2/3C, I really like that wine flavor. So, with those changes I now love this recipe and plan to make it a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
EXCELLENT. Wow. If you prefer a carmelized onion flavor, over traditional onion flavor, try this: Add a small vidalia onion and 2 gloves of garlic into your food processor. (Omit the garlic powder called for. Add the entire stick of butter in the beginning and get the onions slightly tender. Add the orzo and one-half of the wine. Use a sweeter wine, like a Riesling, to give some good sugar quality. I used Piesporter White Wine but any sweet grape variety would do. Stay on top of it during this stage of cooking as the carmelization will start to happen and could burn quickly. Lastly, use fresh sliced baby bella mushrooms, and omit the parsley. The outcome had a savory blend with just a hint of natural sweetness that was delicious. If you like the taste of carmelized onion, savory with just a hint of sweet, this modification is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I've made this twice and it is very good! First time I made it as presented, and it was a little too buttery and Parmesan-overpowering for us. I cut the butter by almost half, and only put in a sprinkle of Parmesan the second time, but put grated Parm on the table for guests to add as desired. Some added none, others a ton, so it seems that's one way to allow people to adapt to their own tastes with this dish. I would readily make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was so good! I will be making this all the time. I was a perfect sidedish for the fish I made. This would go good with steak, or anything. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I think this is the lazy man's risotto. I have made this with venison and also with duck and compliments their gaminess well. The second time I did cut down on the Parmesan cheese, as we thought it was overpowering the other flavors the first time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
So I overcooked the cod, undercooked the brussels sprouts, but this dish came out perfectly! I was so pleased with the results. Instead of the water and wine I used 1.5 cups of chicken broth. I was nervous when I dumped it in because it looked like a lot of liquid, but the orzo absorbed it all. I would double the mushrooms, though. Instead of the pearl onions I used a small sliced yellow onion. And about half the butter. I will be making this over and over again! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! It reminds me of my favorite pasta dish from The Cheesecake Factory ! Great job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States