Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This was wonderful! I have told all of my friends about it. So good, so easy and so tasty. I didn't use the pearl onions, instead I used scallions and button mushrooms. The butter and wine made it. It was so good there were NO left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Epps

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe was awesome! Like a mini-Risoto! I also used chicken stock instead of water, and because I added asparagus and chopped chicken breast, I added about 1.5 cups more broth to the pasta, and cooked it about twice as long. No big deal, just be prepared in case this happens to you. I will definatley be making this again...I almost liked this more than the traditional risoto, a little less starchy and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anniebb25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Definitely make it in a skillet as they recommend, or if you have nonstick saucepans that would work, too. I made it in a stainless saucepan and had to stir almost constantly or it kept sticking. My fault! Also, according to personal preference, I would decrease the wine...but I really love mushrooms so I prefer to have their flavor be foremost and I felt like the wine took over a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Summerhill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I used about a third the amount of butter and it still tasted fantastic--the full amount would have been overpoweringly rich, I think. Did use chicken broth instead of water, per other reviewers' suggestions. Keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEYRAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
But I halfed the butter and added double the mushrooms. I also only added 1/4 onion and added parmesan and feta. I also added 1/2 C. of quinoa. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Yummy, I'm adding seafood next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I really enjoyed this. Didn't have pearl onions, so used chopped vidalia. Had some shiitake mushrooms on hand, so used those. Although the end result was quite good, I think I would've preferred this without using the wine. It had too strong of an aftertaste and kind of cancelled out the other flavors rather than enhancing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Delicious, but I agree that the butter could be cut in half, and it would still be good. Also, I substituted I clove of minced garlic for the garlic powder; I added it with the pearl onions and sauteed it with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Wow, I was impressed. One of my favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States