Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Really delicious. I cut back a little on the butter, used red onion instead of pearl, fresh garlic instead of powder and omitted the parmesan. Turned out great! Wine flavour really comes through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I had a mushroom orzo from our local italian restaurant that I have been craving, and this was nearly identical...and delicious! Next time I would add more mushrooms (perhaps shitake) and finish with some truffle oil. I doubled the sauce and added shrimp in the last 5 minutes of cooking and allowed it to rest for a few minutes after. Absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Love this recipe!! It was dripping butter when I made it the first time with the amount called for and was way too much butter for me. I have made this about 10 times since and used only 1/2 the butter. I added a little more wine to make sure there was enough liquid. I will continue to make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Like every good allrecipes reader, I checked out the reviews before starting this dish, and these are my modifications (not that the original had anything wrong with it): No pearl onions, so I just cut up two small regular yellow ones and sauteed them with sliced mushrooms with olive oil and butter. At the same time, I roasted some asparagus to add, just because I love it and was using the oven anyway. When both were done I set them aside and I toasted the orzo in butter and olive oil until it was well coated, then added 2 1/2 cups of chicken stock and 1/2 cup of white wine, adding more when the liquid disappeared so that it was all absorbed and the flavors vibrant. Then I threw the veggies back in the orzo and did the Parmesan on individual plates, to taste. Yum! I get weirded out by melted Parmesan. Once, on a recipe like this, but not this one at all, I let the Parmesan sit in the heating dish and it got thick and gloopy and kind of hard and I nearly stopped consuming cheese for awhile, because I kept picturing it in my arteries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Really good, would be better if I would have had fresh Parmesan on hand instead of the powdered :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Amazing!!! I swapped the water for chicken broth and added 1/4 cup more and also added spinach. Had it with meatballs. You have to try this, it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I prepared this recipe for the first time tonight and it was delicious. It had such a wonderful, rich, tasty flavor. I modified the recipe and added more more mushrooms, canola oil and margarine instead of butter. I also replaced the garlic powder with fresh garlic and the pearl onions with yellow onions. The next time I prepare this recipe, I plan to either eliminate the orzo and incorporate it into a veggie or all mushroom lasagne and/or prepare it as a pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Absolutely amazing! I doubled the orzo and the liquid. Next time I will double the mushrooms. I used regular onions as I never have pearl onions. I only used 2 T butter to begin with and 1 T when I added the orzo. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I love this recipe, made as a main dish with Chicken Kebab's for the valentine dinner last night. I did add a dash of chilli flakes and Asparagus cut into 2 inch pieces to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Made this a few times now always delish. I have used both fresh and canned mushrooms. fresh is better but can works in a pinch. must try it . great as a side or a filling main dish! my whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States