Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I've made this several times, my family and I love it! It's excellent as is. I also change up the ingredients a bit at times but this recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I left out the onions because they are unpopular at my house. To replace some flavor I threw fresh sage in with the melting butter before I started cooking the mushrooms. It was perfect, easy to put together, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this tonight as a side dish for country style ribs. It was a very friendly and forgiving recipe, as I didn't have the wine or fresh parsley or pearl onions. I also changed up the order, sauteing the mushrooms until done b4 adding the orzo. Some reviewers said it took a lot more time and liquid, but I didn't find that to be true. Could the brand of orzo make a difference? In any case, I used 16 oz of orzo, but kept the amount of butter the same (less fat.) I used about 1 c. of diced frozen onion and a low sodium chicken stock concentrate mixed with the water instead of wine. I added a cube of frozen chopped basil to sub for the parsley, 2 fresh frozen garlic cubes instead of dried, a whole package of sliced mushrooms, and a container of shredded grand cru instead of parmesan. I added 3 cups of water (since I doubled the pasta) and put a lid on the skillet, letting it simmer on low for about 5 minutes while I made cole slaw and threw some frozen steamer peas into the microwave. It was sticking badly when I got back to it so I added another cup of water and managed to scrape it off and keep going. After that I left the lid off and stirred pretty constantly for no more than 5 more minutes, tested the pasta and found it done. Added fresh ground black pepper with the cheese, and voila! It wasn't a spectacular flavor but it was yummy, creamy, comfort food, a great foil for the bbq ribs. I am adding this to our regular rotation! Quick and easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is so easy and very tasty. I used a regular onion instead of the pearl onions and chicken stock. Next time I make it I will use different varieties of mushrooms. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Party Chef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I made this tonight not knowing what to expect, but to my surprise it was very good. I took others suggestions and used Chicken Broth, I used 3/4 cup and 1/2 cup of water. I used diced yellow onion and left out the cheese. I also added more of the seasoning in order to get it the taste that I wanted. All and all, it was very filling. The next time I will add some chicken make a one pot meal. Thanks Babarclay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
WOW! This was even better than expected, even though I forgot the Parmesan (grated it and then left it in the fridge--out of sight, out of mind). The dish is so simple to make, yet it turned out elegant and very flavorful. I didn't have white wine, so I used 1 cup of beef broth and 1/2 cup water. I also used yellow onion and only 2 Tbsp of butter to reduce the fat content. This dish is a definite keeper. Now, I have to make it again to try it with the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Love this recipe! Very yummy! I make it all the time with fish. I only use half the amount of butter, because it is a little greasy with the 1/2c. called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I was really disappointed, and I wish I had read ALL reviews before making this dish. It is really bland, and that much butter didn't help. I'll try to tweak it by changing from broth to water, use olive oil, fresh garlic, and maybe some sausage, but I'm not hopeful. I much prefer our regular risottos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Awesome recipe. I probably used a little more wine and mushrooms. I also added a little bacon. Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlsears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Great recipe! Made as shown only doubled mushrooms (because we love 'em). This was just yummy! Good next day too. Might reduce the butter for personal preference but otherwise A+. Thanks! Will make again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stormy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Semmes, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States