Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I used fresh garlic, grated my own parmesean and instead of water used chicken broth. Amazing! Threw in diced grilled chicken to make it a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda879

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The only changes I made was to use fresh garlic and diced red onion instead of the pearl onions. Absolutely outstanding and will be a regular addition to our family menu. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beverly Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Butter overload- next time, I'd use a little less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Watson Gloss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This recipe was a great base. I used chopped white onion in place of pearl onion, and fresh garlic cloves in place of garlic powder. I sauteed the chopped garlic and onion in an appropriate amount of EVOO rather than butter. When I added the liquid I used broth rather than water, Reisling wine, and estimated the amount of butter to add. Also I used about a pound of baby bellas - you can never have too many mushrooms. It ended up simmering (on low with the top on) for 20-25 minutes until the liquid was absorbed and the orzo was very soft. It came out GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Galgarrick
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I like this, my only complaint, it took longer than 7 to 10 minutes to cook it took closer to 20.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Galgarrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Feliz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I added 3 tbsp of cream of mushroom, doubled the water and didn't put in the cheese and wine. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
This recipe is good! Easy to make also! I took otherS advise and use chicken broth. I left out the parmesan because I wanted it to be less fattening. Still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I never thought I'd say "too much butter," but here it is, even though I reduced the butter a little already. I'm sure reducing it more will blow this up to five starts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. I made a non-cholesterol version with some ingredient substitutions: using Benecol instead of butter, scallions instead of pearl onions, minced garlic instead of garlic powder, and not including the parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States