Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This was a hit at my house. I used chicken broth instead of the wine and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Lots of flavor. A whole stick of butter in this recipe seems like way too much, so I only used 4 T, but next time I'll try 3 T. I used homemade chicken broth in place of the 1 c. of water, and I needed additional water to get the orzo fully cooked even with keeping the pan covered the entire time the orzo was simmering. I used about 5/8 c. of additional liquid. If you cut back on the butter, double the sliced mushrooms, and add extra chicken broth/water, this becomes a 5 star recipe and would also be a great way to flavor rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I had left over orzo from the night before and found this recipe. It was fantastic, I just cooked it all up and then tossed in the already cooked orzo. I added some sliced black olives to the mix. It was really, really good and there are a lot of things you can do with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coastie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I added bullion and more water. It took longer to cook. It tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Novelty, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Definitely one of the best side dishes I have ever made. I made it for my in-laws on Christmas and everyone was VERY impressed. I did need quite a bit more liquid than the recipe called for, but it turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Wow. This was REALLY good stuff. I used fresh garlic and chopped red onion instead of pearl onions, and left out the parsley. Otherwise I followed the recipe and it was out of this world. Thanks@
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
My grocery store doesn't carry pearl onions so I substituted Cipolline onions and they were great. Also, I followed other reviewers' advice and cut way back on the butter. I only used 2 T. I substituted chicken broth for the water and found that I had to add more during the cooking process because it got too thick and the orzo wasn't cooked yet. I think I ended up doubling the liquid. I also skipped the parsley as I just didn't have any. This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Very yummy but not for those on a diet. An entire stick of butter is more than I like to use. But for the holidays or a special treat, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I just made this last night, and it was a hit. I used green onions instead of pearl (didn't have pearl), and and about 1/4 cup of butter. I followed other reviewers advice and used chicken broth instead of water. I actually substituted the wine with chicken broth as well because I didn't have any white wine at the time. I look forward to trying the recipe with wine and pearl onions, but this first pass was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICook4Fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oran, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Very good! The fresh parsley really adds a vital element to this dish, so don't skip it. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States