Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Fantastic - Thanks Babaerclay. I am always asked to bring this to dinner, pot luck. Even my husband who is a potatoes guy asks for this! The changes I have made is to add a can of mushroom soup for a creamier version. Fresh garlic and chicken broth as others have suggested as well. Love it , love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This was a very good recipe. I used diced onions in place of the pearl onions and beef broth for the wine and water. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made this tonight, and my husband and I loved it. I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because as written, there is a definite wine taste which my kids weren't crazy about. But we loved it! Other than subsituting chopped onions for pearl (I was out) and fresh garlic for powder (personal preference), I followed it exactly. Next time to make it more kid friendly, I might substitute broth for the wine--but then again the adults were happy with the wine taste! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! The wine really adds great flavor. I made it once following the recipe exactly. The second time I realized I ran out of mushrooms so I made it with a bit of cream of mushroom soup and I also cut the butter to 1/4 cup and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made this last night and it was good. My only complaint was it was a little oily from all the butter. I think next time I would maybe cut the second divided part of the butter in half. I would also up the last part to 10 minutes instead of 7. My orzo was a little crunchy, but that was my fault for not testing not the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This recipe was recommended by a friend (thanks Susan!) and I have made it twice in the last two weeks. My husband and I both love it!! I took the advice of others and altered it slightly. I used diced onion (1 c.) instead of the pearl onions and substituted 3 cloves of minced garlic (cooked with the onions) for the garlic powder. I increased the amount of sliced mushrooms to 1/2 cup and also used beef broth instead of the water (or other's recommendation of chicken broth) and I think the beef broth adds an 'earthiness' and goes well with the mushrooms. Also I didn't have an open bottle of white wine available so I used 1/4 c. dry vermouth and 1/4 cup water and I cut back on the butter slightly. It IS very similar to risotto but a lot less trouble. It has become one of our favorite pasta dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Very quick and easy. I used 1.5 cups of chicken broth instead of water and wine. I also used about 1/4 onion, chopped instead of the pearl onions. I used baby bellas and less butter than called for (2TBS for onions, then added 4 more, 2 at a time while I sauteed the mushrooms and orzo). Everyone ate it (i'm lucky, my kids love mushrooms). I served it as a main dish with french green beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Served this for dinner for 8 guests and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. Because I doubled the number of servings I cut back by 1/4 on the butter, doubled the amount of onions and mushrooms and used chicken broth instead of water. I'll definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Everyone including my 18 month old loved it! I did use a bit less butter, boiled the orzo beforehand and skipped the water stage. Used about a tablespoon of dried parsley, omitted the wine, added some broccoli florets since my kids need the extra veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Everyone in my entire family, including my picky nephews, loved this. I followed the suggestions and substituted chicken broth for most of the water, although I did need more liquid in total, like others said. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States