Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I think this is the lazy man's risotto. I have made this with venison and also with duck and compliments their gaminess well. The second time I did cut down on the Parmesan cheese, as we thought it was overpowering the other flavors the first time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
So I overcooked the cod, undercooked the brussels sprouts, but this dish came out perfectly! I was so pleased with the results. Instead of the water and wine I used 1.5 cups of chicken broth. I was nervous when I dumped it in because it looked like a lot of liquid, but the orzo absorbed it all. I would double the mushrooms, though. Instead of the pearl onions I used a small sliced yellow onion. And about half the butter. I will be making this over and over again! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! It reminds me of my favorite pasta dish from The Cheesecake Factory ! Great job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I wasn't expecting much, but I thought this was pretty good. I was looking for a recipe to use up some pearl onions. Like many folks, I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used 6 T. of butter, instead of 8--just put all the butter in the pan, melted it and added frozen pearl onions (about 1 1/2 c.) and 8 oz. of sliced mushrooms. I let them cook for a pretty long time--I find that mushrooms taste better the longer you cook them. I then added some fresh garlic and the orzo and about 5 minutes after that, added 1 T. vinegar and 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth, since I wasn't using wine. (The vinegar was a little strong, would cut back next time.) I had to cook the orzo longer and added more water. In addition to salt and pepper, I seasoned with some Worcestershire sauce. Threw in some fresh thyme with the parsley, just 'cause I had it on hand. After using up this bag of frozen pearl onions, I decided I'm not a fan of pearl onions, except for creamed pearl onions at Thanksgiving. So if I made this again, I would probably use regular onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Really good and really easy to make. I like this recipe because you can alter it to your taste. I made it as is and everyone in my family enjoyed it. I may try it next time with spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I wish that I could give this recipe more stars! I didn't have any pearl onions so I chopped up a Spanish onion. I replaced the water with a can of chicken broth. This recipe is a delicious and easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Seriously, I could have eaten this whole thing by myself! I loved it! First of all, if you are lucky enough to be able to afford pearl onions (!), you need to drop them in boiling water for a minute or so. Then cut the top off and squeeze the inside out of the wrapping. I sauteed them in two tablespoons of butter in a a 10" skillet until they were lightly browned. I used crimini mushrooms--most of a little 8-oz container--and maybe three tablespoons of butter more (so not the whole 1/2 cup called for). Instead of water, I used some broth I made from a home-baked chicken. I used some chardonnay for the wine. I did use the seasoning to taste as suggested. This cooked down perfectly so that when I added shaved parmesan to the end product, it was just perfectly done. So good! I can't wait for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Such a delicious dish!! I used a dried exotic mushroom mix instead of fresh mushrooms, and instead of water I used chicken broth and used a half of a regular chopped yellow onion, but followed the rest of the recipe. The fancy mushrooms added a nice richness, and a depth of flavor. A great side or main vegetarian dish (if you use the water only course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea-Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I really didn't like it. It had a sour taste to it, maybe the kind of wine I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States