Mushroom Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I wasn't expecting much, but I thought this was pretty good. I was looking for a recipe to use up some pearl onions. Like many folks, I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used 6 T. of butter, instead of 8--just put all the butter in the pan, melted it and added frozen pearl onions (about 1 1/2 c.) and 8 oz. of sliced mushrooms. I let them cook for a pretty long time--I find that mushrooms taste better the longer you cook them. I then added some fresh garlic and the orzo and about 5 minutes after that, added 1 T. vinegar and 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth, since I wasn't using wine. (The vinegar was a little strong, would cut back next time.) I had to cook the orzo longer and added more water. In addition to salt and pepper, I seasoned with some Worcestershire sauce. Threw in some fresh thyme with the parsley, just 'cause I had it on hand. After using up this bag of frozen pearl onions, I decided I'm not a fan of pearl onions, except for creamed pearl onions at Thanksgiving. So if I made this again, I would probably use regular onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Really good and really easy to make. I like this recipe because you can alter it to your taste. I made it as is and everyone in my family enjoyed it. I may try it next time with spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I wish that I could give this recipe more stars! I didn't have any pearl onions so I chopped up a Spanish onion. I replaced the water with a can of chicken broth. This recipe is a delicious and easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Seriously, I could have eaten this whole thing by myself! I loved it! First of all, if you are lucky enough to be able to afford pearl onions (!), you need to drop them in boiling water for a minute or so. Then cut the top off and squeeze the inside out of the wrapping. I sauteed them in two tablespoons of butter in a a 10" skillet until they were lightly browned. I used crimini mushrooms--most of a little 8-oz container--and maybe three tablespoons of butter more (so not the whole 1/2 cup called for). Instead of water, I used some broth I made from a home-baked chicken. I used some chardonnay for the wine. I did use the seasoning to taste as suggested. This cooked down perfectly so that when I added shaved parmesan to the end product, it was just perfectly done. So good! I can't wait for the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Such a delicious dish!! I used a dried exotic mushroom mix instead of fresh mushrooms, and instead of water I used chicken broth and used a half of a regular chopped yellow onion, but followed the rest of the recipe. The fancy mushrooms added a nice richness, and a depth of flavor. A great side or main vegetarian dish (if you use the water only course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea-Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I really didn't like it. It had a sour taste to it, maybe the kind of wine I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Made this last night....just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
One of the most delicious Mushroom Orzo recipes I've ever tried or eaten! And easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
OMG!! Wow..wow! I was so surprised and proud of myself! This mushroom orzo is definitely a 5 stars +++...so delicious and pleasantly satisfying. I used crimini and button mushrooms, chopped up along with chicken stock for the water called for in this recipe to give it more flavor. I also used 1 garlic clove, chopped up with the fresh shallots I used in place of pearl onions. I used the butter amount called for in this recipe however I think next time I will cut it back some. The wine, mushrooms, stock all enhanced this pasta wonderfully! Even my honey was complimenting over how wonderful and tasty this was. A keeper in my recipe box to be used time and again! Served with, "Pesto Cheesy Chicken Rolls,"also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Mushroom Pork Chops

See how to make a simple but scrumptious one-pan pork chop meal.

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States