Mushroom Onion Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is so good! I made it with brown rice, and I added extra mushrooms to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacey Armitage

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I love mushrooms, french onion soup, but this just did not taste good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I took some of the other reviewers' advice and used less water. I partly used the water from the can of mushrooms as well as regular water equalling to 2/3 cup. I think I might use more next time even though the rice still came out great. My family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Super fast & easy! I searched recipes for canned mushrooms, & this was the 1st one. I only had dry onion soup mix (Lipton pkg). Turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Not having any french onion soup, I used cream of onion. I also used chicken stock instead of water. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: St. Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I love this rice and have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. Based on other reviews and what I had on hand I made the following changes: I used Uncle Bens converted rice, browned it in about 3-4 tblsp of butter along with a small chopped onion, used the full 2 cups of water with 4 beef boullion cubes, then combined with chopped portabello mushrooms (amount to your liking) and put in a 9x13 casserole and baked uncovered in the oven at 350 for 45 minutes, stirring the mixture twice while baking. Has a wonderful texture and flavor. Served this with marinated chicken kabobs from this website. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe is even more flavorful if instead of the two cups of water, you add a can of beef consomme soup. I have found one cup of rice, 1 can french onion soup, 1 can beef consomme, the mushrooms, and the butter slices on the top to melt while cooking makes this incredible. I think the 2 cups of water would water it down too much....try replacing that with one can beef consomme and your guests will go wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was very bland and very beige. It lacked any quality that would make me want to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This is a good rice recipe and is very easy and simple to make. It's an excellent rice dish for a bbq. May I make two suggestions for this recipe: 1. cut by half the amount of water and 2. add finely chopped green onion. I will definitely make this recipe for another bbq down the road.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States