Mushroom Onion Matzo Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
i modified this recipe after reading the reviews. i used one box of matzo, crumbled. i added one lb sliced and sauteed mushrooms and two diced onions, also sauteed in butter (can use margerine). I added one "box" of chicken broth heated(since others said the taste was disappointing). i let this cool and added 3 beaten eggs (to hold it together). i added about 1 teaspoon of thyme and salt and pepper (to taste) i baked this covered in a greased 9x13 inch pyrex casserole at 325 (COVERED) for one hour. there was one very small square left after the seder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I sauteed garlic with the onions and mushrooms and drained most of the liquid out before adding to the farfel. I also added 2 beaten eggs to the mixture before baking. The kugel was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Very simple to put together, but in the end it was a very simple taste. Adding some more spices and seasonings will certainly liven this dish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is very delicious. It needs a lot of salt and pepper. Taste it before you bake it. I added two beaten eggs as someone had suggested. I think it is needed to hold it together. Made it in an 8 x 8 pan and baked it for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
This was was not only delicious for our seder but would make a great stuffing for turkey or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I prepared this dish for our community passover celebration for 116 people. I added more pepper and garlic than called for. It was served plain or with chicken gravy. There were many good raves and requests for the recipe. excellant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houndawg
Living In: Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
I was totally disappointed with this recipe. Too much dilland it didn't stay together after baking...The gravy from the brisket made it tolerable however I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
With modifications it was great. I added brocolli, extra garlic, salt, 1/2 of a boulion cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made this recipe into a pilaf instead of a kugel. I sauteed the onions and mushrooms and some garlic on the stove top, add the softened matzo farfel, added about 1/4 cup of water with chicken soup seasoning, salt and pepper, once the pilaf cooked a bit I added freshly chopped basil and parsley and one beaten egg to the mixture to make some pieces stick together but not to make the whole mixture too dense like a baked kugel. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
The recipe needs quite a few alterations. I added eggs and chicken broth as suggested , mine turned out very thin as it didnt state what size pan to put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States