Mushroom Onion Matzo Kugel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
This was was not only delicious for our seder but would make a great stuffing for turkey or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Very simple to put together, but in the end it was a very simple taste. Adding some more spices and seasonings will certainly liven this dish up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I sauteed garlic with the onions and mushrooms and drained most of the liquid out before adding to the farfel. I also added 2 beaten eggs to the mixture before baking. The kugel was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
I was totally disappointed with this recipe. Too much dilland it didn't stay together after baking...The gravy from the brisket made it tolerable however I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
i modified this recipe after reading the reviews. i used one box of matzo, crumbled. i added one lb sliced and sauteed mushrooms and two diced onions, also sauteed in butter (can use margerine). I added one "box" of chicken broth heated(since others said the taste was disappointing). i let this cool and added 3 beaten eggs (to hold it together). i added about 1 teaspoon of thyme and salt and pepper (to taste) i baked this covered in a greased 9x13 inch pyrex casserole at 325 (COVERED) for one hour. there was one very small square left after the seder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This is very delicious. It needs a lot of salt and pepper. Taste it before you bake it. I added two beaten eggs as someone had suggested. I think it is needed to hold it together. Made it in an 8 x 8 pan and baked it for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I was terribly disappointed with this recipe even though it sounded good. It was very WET (it shouldnt have been-you didnt say to put it thru a colander and press out as much water as possible,which i did and still it was very WET and not very tasty!! These recipes should be tested- a big disappointment...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Everyone loved this!!! Really easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindala

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
The recipe needs quite a few alterations. I added eggs and chicken broth as suggested , mine turned out very thin as it didnt state what size pan to put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
With modifications it was great. I added brocolli, extra garlic, salt, 1/2 of a boulion cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States